The following appeared in the Health section of the Greenhorne Gazette.

"Motilac is a substance that occurs naturally in the human digestive tract. Many consumers of dietary supplements containing motilac report significant easing of digestive discomfort after just a few weeks of use. Among Greenhorne residents, the consumption of motilac supplements has increased 80% over the last seven years. Last year, Greenhorne's five hospitals reported fewer cases of serious gastrointestinal disorders than any year on record. Meanwhile, sales of motilac supplements are declining in the neighboring town of Etolin. Notably, hospitals in Etolin report a steady increase in the last two years in patients experiencing a wide range of distressing gastrointestinal symptoms. The clear explanation of these trends is that motilac is effective in preventing many serious gastrointestinal disorders."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

In the above memo, the author argues that motilac substances consumptions have a direct beneficial effect on preventing gastrointestinal disorder. The author supports his argument based on the reports of 5 hospitals which found a steady decline in the number of cases of gastrointestinal disorders after motilac consumption had increased among Greenhorne’s residents. Furthermore, the author strengthens his argument based on the report which states that after dwindling motilac substances consumption the number of gastrointestinal symptoms has dilated. However, before evaluating the author’s argument three unstated assumptions need to be answered.

Firstly, the author bolsters his argument regarding motilac effectiveness in preventing gastrointestinal disorders based on the reports of the consumers of dietary supplements which contains motilac without providing any admissible evidence. There is a possibility that the main ingredient of dietary supplements is honey. Perhaps motilac alone is not beneficial for health but motilac with honey actually is effective for preventing gastrointestinal problems. If the above scenario is true then the author’s argument holds no water. If the author is able to provide more evidence regarding the ingredients of the dietary supplements then it will be possible to evaluate the author’s argument to a certain extent.

Secondly, the author bastions his argument based on the report which states that after proliferating the consumption of motilac substance among the residents, the number of cases of gastrointestinal disorder decreased significantly without any necessitate evidence. Perhaps most people stayed home if they suffer from a minor gastrointestinal disorder. Maybe the number of serious gastrointestinal disorders has mounted more than before after motilac consumption. The author does not provide any evidence to rectify his claim. If the author is able to provide more evidence perhaps in a statistical data chart of the patients of the 5 hospitals then it will be credible to evaluate the author’s argument otherwise the author’s argument is seriously unwarranted.

Thirdly, the author states that the declining number of motilac consumption has a direct effect on increasing astrological symptoms without any justifiable evidence. There is a possibility that poor water consumption is the main reason for the aggrandizing number of cases. In other words, maybe motilac consumption does not have any connection with the increase in cases of gastrointestinal symptoms then the author's argument is built unreliably. If the author is able to provide more evidence perhaps in the form of a systematic research study regarding the cause of the accretion of gastrointestinal disorder then it will be conceivable to evaluate the author’s claim.

In the conclusion, as the author’s argument stands now is seriously unwarranted due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to clarify the three unseated assumptions above and offer more evidence(perhaps in the form of a systematic research study ) then, it will be possible to evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation that motilac consumption is effective in preventing many gastrointestinal problems.