The following appeared in an e-mail sent by the marketing director of the Classical

Shakespeare Theatre of Bardville.

"Over the past ten years, there has been a 20 percent decline in the size of the

average audience at Classical Shakespeare Theatre productions. In spite of

increased advertising, we are attracting fewer and fewer people to our shows,

causing our profits to decrease significantly. We must take action to attract new

audience members. The best way to do so is by instituting a 'Shakespeare in the

Park' program this summer. Two years ago the nearby Avon Repertory Company

started a 'Free Plays in the Park' program, and its profits have increased 10 percent

since then. If we start a 'Shakespeare in the Park' program, we can predict that our

profits will increase, too.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in

order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be

sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the

recommendation.

In the above e-mail, the author argues that in order to be lucrative they should institute the 'Shakespeare in the Park program'. The author bolsters his argument based on the report that by implementing the same strategy which is instituting the 'Free play in the Park' program the nearby Avon Repertory Company’s profit has increased. However, before evaluating the author’s argument three questions need to be answered.

Firstly, the author argues that in order to attract new audiences the best way is to institute ‘Shakespeare in the Park’ program without providing any necessitate evidence regarding the efficacy of the strategy. One may raise questions about the authenticity of the plan. In other words, will instituting the program enhance their profit significantly? There is a possibility that most audiences watch classical Shakespeare Theatre via the internet. Then one can not argue that by implementing the program the number of audiences will increase significantly. If this is not the case, maybe poor management is the main cause behind the dwindling number of audiences. If the author is able to provide some admissible evidence behind the cause of decreasing audience number perhaps in a form of a systematic research study then it will be possible to evaluate the author’s argument to a certain extent.

Secondly, the aurora argues that by imitating the similar strategy of nearby Avon Repertory Company their theatre will be lucrative in the future without providing any evidence. One may ask questions about the authenticity of the plan. Are those two theatres similar? In other words, is the strategy of using circumstances from one thing to generalize and predict others legitimate? Maybe Avon Repertory Company plays different types of theatre including modern movies whereas the Shakespeare Theatre of Bardville plays only the plays of Shakespeare, then one can not argue that by implementing a similar strategy the Shakespeare Theatre of Bradville will be lucrative. The author has to provide more legitimate evidence regarding both theatres in order to rectify his argument otherwise, the author’s argument is built unreliably.

Thirdly, the author argues that after instituting the 'Free Plays in the Park' program the profit of Avon Repertory Company increases 10 percent over the past two years without providing any proper evidence regarding the past condition. Is using only a percentage to conclude something genuine? A percentage is a tricky situation. Without an absolute number being given one can not conclude anything based on only percentage. Maybe two years ago the profit was 1000 dollars and the production cost was 5000 dollars but after implementing the program the profit became1100 dollars but the production cost increased by 60 percent which is 5300. If the above scenario is true then the author’s argument is fictitious. If the author is able to provide more evidence about the production cost and the previous years' profit perhaps in a form of a statistical data chart then it will strengthen the author’s argument.

In the conclusion, the author’s argument stands now is seriously flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able answers the three questions above and offers more evidence perhaps in the form of a systematic research study then it will be possible to evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation regarding dilating profit by instituting the ‘Shakespeare in the Park program’.