The following appeared in the Health section of the Greenhorne Gazette:

“Motilac is a substance that occurs naturally in the human digestive tract. Many consumers of dietary supplements containing motilac report significant easing of digestive discomfort after just a few weeks of use. Among Greenhorne residents, the consumption of motilac supplements has increased 80% over the last seven years. Last year, Greenhorne’s five hospitals reported fewer cases of serious gastrointestinal disorders than any year on record. Meanwhile, sales of motilac supplements are declining in the neighboring town of Etolin. Notably, hospitals in Etolin report a steady increase in the last two years in patients experiencing a wide range of distressing gastrointestinal symptoms. The clear explanation of these trends is that motilac is effective in preventing many serious gastrointestinal disorders."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The argument that motilac supplements will be the panacea for all the gastrointestinal distress of the citizens of Etolin is flawed for many reasons. The argument assumes that the citizens of both cities are equal in every regard without taking into account how just one difference between the population could change an entire treatment plan.

First off, the diet of the two ciites may be drastically different. The citizens of Greenhorne may consume a far more well-rounded diet than the citizens of Etolin. Likewise, the citizens of Etolin may have a far more caloric diet that may help lead to gastrointestinal distress. By assuming that the two cities were the same in this respect, the argument jumped to its own conclusion that the two cities were similar in every respect and therefore reccomends the same drug to treat both cities. Even if the argument mentioned the dietary practices of the two cities, it still would not account of the overall fitness of the two cities. Those who exercise have all around better physiological function, including that of the gastrointestinal system. If Etolin does not exercise as much as their neighbors in greenhorn, they would also be at greater risk of gastrointestinal distress than their neighbors.

The second assumption the argument makes is that the two cities are of the same economic standing. If Greenhorne consumes more motiliac supplements, it could be due to their ability to purchase these products. Dietary supplement are very expensive and are often viewed as a luxury by many in the health in fitness industry. If motiliac improves gastrointestinal function, those with little financial stability may not see those benefits. Therefore, if Etolin is not as financially stable as Greenhorne, they are less likely to consume motiliac to improve their gastrointestinal distress. Furthermore, if the argument presented the socioeconomic situation of both cities, the argument would still not account for the afinity each city has for taking supplements and medication. Etolin may be a smaller town that prefers home remedies as opposed to corporate backed medications.

If the citizens of Etolin were fond of taking medication, there is no gurantee that motiliac supplements would work for all its citizens. All human being's bodies are different and their tolerance to different medications and treatments vary vastly. The citizens of Etolin may have a genetic dispostition that prevents motiliac supplements from solving their gastrointestinal distress. Consumption of other medications, or even food, can also cause the ineffectiveness of certain treatments, potentially rendering motiliac mute. However, even if this was the case, there are a plethora of other drugs that are on the market that treat gastrointestinal conditions. Doctors at hospitals in Etolin can provide care for their patient's ailments without having to rely on one specific drug. Therfore, motiliac should not automatically be the treatment of choice for the citizens of Etolin.

While the argument attempts to solve an important health issue in a city, it presents its position with many holes and few justifications for its decision. Just becasue one product helps reduce gastrointestinal distress in one population, does not mean it will for another.