The following appeared in a letter to the city council of Canbury from the president of Plexma Motors.

"I am pleased that the council is considering Plexma`s plans to open a new manufacturing site in Canbury next year. In addition to our regular line of cars, Plexma has also begun designing and testing a line of automated self-driving vehicles. In a recent survey conducted by local media, 60 percent of Canbury`s residents reported that they would purchase a Plexma self-driving vehicle in the future if they were confident in the vehicles` safety. We are happy to report that last summer, we tested our new line of self-driving vehicles in downtown Canbury with great success. Not only did our five tested vehicles remain accident-free for two months during testing, but in a survey conducted after testing, 90 percent of Canbury`s residents reported that when they were downtown and our vehicles were in operation they felt very safe. Because steady demand for our self-driving vehicles will create new jobs and thereby greatly benefit Canbury`s economy as a whole, I recommend that you vote to allow Plexma to begin manufacturing and selling these vehicles in Canbury."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The letter from the president of Plexma Motors states that citizens in Canbury should vote to allow Plexma to begin manufacturing and selling these vehicles in Canbury. Because a survey conducted by local media indicates that 60 percent of residents in Canbury would purchase a Plexma self-driving vehicle in the future, and it will create new jobs and bring great benefit for Canbury's economy. However, several questions need to be answered to make the statement as plausible as it stands.

To begin, the letter cites a survey conducted by local media that 60 percent of residents would purchase Plexma's vehicle in the future. Notwithstanding, can the survey appropriately represent the whole population in Canbury? If there are 2 million residents living in Canbury, but the survey only investigated 20 people, it may be too confident to assert that there will be 60 percent of the population interested in the vehicle from Plexma. Moreover, readers do not know whether the local media has any preference to Plexma. If it does, then maybe the survey was not as impartial as the president thinks.

Secondly, the letter claims that vehicles from Plexma have passed 5 different safety tests, and also cites another survey conducted after the test that 90 percent of people think vehicles from Plexma are safe. Still, what was the content in that survey? Since different ways that a questionnaire asks questions can bring completely different results. For example, if one of the question in the survey asked "Self-driving vehicles from Plexma can hit the brake automatically when it detects other cars and passengers, do you think the car is safe?" it could bring more positive reception from participants. On the other hand, if the questionnaire did not mention the fancy functions of the vehicle, the reception may not be able to be as positive as the previous one.

Finally, the letter argues that steady demand for vehicles will create new jobs and bring greater benefit to Canbury. However, what is the cost that it will bring to Canbury? Maybe Canbury is a city that has stricter policy for its ecology and environment, and most people care more about their living quality than their wage. In this case, bringing more factories could cause irreversible negative effects such as air or water pollution and so on. Thus, allowing Plexma to begin manufacturing in Canbury may not be completely good for the city.

To make the statement as convincing as it stands, the president of Plexma Motors has to answer the questions mentioned above.