The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the letter, the writer advises that the town council of Balmer Island should reduce the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies during the summer season, when population on the island increases. The writer's argument hinges on the claims that this reduction in rental can consequently result in reduction in accidents, which was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville whose town council adopted similar measures. However, questions such as the correlation between population, rental and accident increase and the similarity of Seaville and Balmer Island must be answered in order to corroborate this claim.

The writer first claims that due to a population increase during summer time, rentals provided by companies should be decreased to reduce accidents. However, we do not know if a population increase has a direct link with mopeds rental increase. For example, it is useful to know if there are transportation alternatives on the island. People might also get around via boats given that Balmer is an island. Also, we should also ask about the source of the population increase. If this increase is due to tourists visiting the island, it is understandable that rentals will possible increase. However, if there is a military base on Balmer Island and the population increase in summer is due to an influx of soldiers training in the base, it is unlikely that rentals will increase since there population might not need much transportation.

Secondly, the writer supposes that if mopeds rentals decreased, then accidents will also decrease. Yet we need to know if situations on the island would remain the same after a decrease in moped rentals. For example, if mopeds rentals were limited, people might turn to other ways of transportation, such as scooters or bikes. However, if these alternatives are more dangerous then mopeds, or if mopeds started to disregard speed limits due to the decrease of other mopeds on the road, then the number of accidents might actually increase.

Finally, the writer borrows the success story in the neighboring island of Seaville to justify his claim that Balmer Island should adopt similar measures. Though it is tempting to draw conclusions, we must first determine the differences between the two islands. Are there other policies implemented in Seaville at the same time when moped rentals are limited, such as a new restrictions on speed limits? If this is the case, then the reduction in accidents might not be the effect of a reduction in rentals but rather a lower speed limit. Also, are law enforcement efficacies the same in two islands? If citizens in Balmer Island have a reputation of flouting officials and eschewing laws, it is unlikely that the success in Seaville can be replicated.

In conclusion, the writer assumes correlations between population, rental, and accident increase, while overlooking possible discrepancies between Balmer and Seaville Island and presents a cursory argument. Hence, we need to first answer the above questions in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result.