The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author presents the case of Seaville's town to enunciates that by reducing the number of rentals of mopeds ,Balmer can prevent the accidents. However, in order to reach a concrete conclusion, there are several questions that needs to answered. One must consider the causes of accidents in both places, the careful analysis of the reason that brought down accident rates in Seaville and several other things.

To commence with, author states that there a reduction of 50% was seen in Seaville by limiting the moped rentals. However, 5o% being a very high fall vividly points out and speaks of more evidence. A single factor alone can be a reason for reduction, is very unlikely. It is very much possible that maybe last year climate conditions were good or authorities there improved the road conditions and more street lights were put in the street for late night journeys or the government their made their traffic rules more strict last year that made people more cautious while driving because of the fear of heavy fine or strict punishments. In fact, there can be many more reasons that will be conducive to accident reduction. Without answering and critically examining other factors, it wouldn't be cogent to say that a mere restriction on rental has led to decline in accidents in Seaville and will bring the same propitious results in Balmer as well.

Also, the question, whether the accidents at Seaville mainly consist of rented or privately owned moped, also needs to answered. If, the accidents in Seaville consisted of mostly rented mopeds then imposing the limits on moped rental seems convincing. However, what if, the percentage of people owning mopeds in Balmer is much high ? In that case even if the authorities there put the limit on moped rentals then also the rule will not give any fruitful results. Hence, it's quite imperative to understand the reasons for accidents in Seaville and Balmer first, the number of privately owned mopeds and then only it would be prudent to go about to decide a solution for preventing accidents.

Furthermore, the author should enumerate the list of vehicles owned by the people living Balmer. The reason it is necessary because it is possible that once, a limit is put on number of per day rentals of mopeds, people will be forced to bring their own vehicles like car or they can even go walking to different places. In both the cases, precluding the possibility of accident is very difficult. If pedestrians are increased then, number of mopeds and pedestrians accidents may increase due to more crowded streets. Also, if people start taking out their cars then also, accidents are very likely to happen.

To sum up, there are numerous questions as discussed above, that must be answered in order to reach a definite point to establish a rule for preventing accidents. The points presented by author are rife with flaws and apparently argument need more evidence for its support.