The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On BalmerIsland, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population

increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving

mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of BalmerIsland should limit the number of mopeds

rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer

season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual

reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville,

when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to

decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how

the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of the argument had recommended to put restrictions on the moped rentals during summer season in order to reduce the number of accidents between moped and pedestrians. this recommendation is based on the comparison with the seaville's town council in which it was able to achieve 50% reduction in accidents by enforcing limits on moped rentals. however, the argument author had provided had many flaws and leaves many questions unanswered which renders it unviable.

firstly, author has assumed that by reducing number of moped rentals from 50 per day to 25 per day will reduce the number of accidents. however, this argument may be proven wrong in many ways. For example, reducing moped rentals will increase number of pedestrians and there by may lead to same result.

also, due to reduced moped rentals people may resort to other transport facility which will not guarantee reduction in accidents.

secondly, the author had drawn comparison between balmer island and it's neighbour seaville island for enforcing regulation on moped rentals. however, author had not considered various ascpects about this comparison which are necessary for rendering it useful in drawing conclusion author had made. For example, the traffic regulation policies in both islands. In addition to enforcing regulation on moped rentals seaville's town council may also have made their traffic rules more strict which would have helped them in reducing number of accidents between mopeds and pedestrians. Therefore author should have considered various aspects before drawing out comparison between two different entities.

also, author had indicated that the reduction in number of accidents in seaville island last year wiil reduce accidents balmer island by enforcing moped restriction. Here we are made to assume that result which seaville got last year will be same in this year. however, this assumption is inherently flawed. it is not sure that result will repeat itself in this year. For example, reduction in accident in last year may due to various factors which may not be the case in this year. For example, the number of population may be less in last year than in this year. also, the public came in last year may be well aware of traffic rules than the public arrived in this year. also, the author had drawn direct relation between percentage of reducing number of rentals to the percentage of reduction in accidents.

hence, the argument placed by the editor had many flawed assumption which renders it un. the author should have considered various author methods in order to reduce number of accidents for example making the traffic rules strict and using more efficient framework to enforce it.