The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"The population on Balmer Island doubles during the summer months. During the summer, then, the town council of Balmer Island should decrease the maximum number of moped rentals allowed at each of the island's six moped and bicycle rental companies from 50 per day to 30 per day. This will significantly reduce the number of summertime accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians. The neighboring island of Torseau actually saw a 50 percent reduction in moped accidents last year when Torseau's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals. To help reduce moped accidents, therefore, we should also enforce these limitations during the summer months."

The author argues that the reduction in number of moped rentals could decline the number of accidents in the Balmer island. Stated in this way, the argument fails to mention several key factors on the basis of which it could be evaluated. Just reduction on rentals doesn't assure the safety on the island. To justify it further, the author should provide a case study about the current number of people and the area of Balmer island as well as some more aspects which could bolster the argument.

First of all the initial population of Balmer island is not mentioned by the author. Possibly a small amount people could be living in Balmer island with respect to Torseau island. For instance, if there are only 100 people living in that island and in summer if the popluation doubled, then it wouldn't be a good idea to reduce the number of rentals since the population is already low. Indisputably, on the Torseau island, the population may be much more than Balmer island and thus reduction on rentals would actually useful for the safety of people. Thus, if the author had given the information about the population of Blamer and Torseau islands then the comparision between them can be done adequately.

Secondly, the author failed to mention the area of Balmer and Torseu islands. Presumbaly, the area of Balmer island is 4 or 5 times the area of Torseu island and hence reduction in number of rentals could not be a great choice to reduce the accidents. Furthermore, the author didn't mention whether accidents are already happening in the Balmer island or not. If the accidents are not occurring in the Balmer island at all, then there won't be any need to enforce the rules. Hence, if the author had provided some information about detailed study of area of Balmer island and the current status of accidents happening in that island, the argument would seem more convincing.

At last, the author failed to mention the current status of roads on Balmer and Torseau islands. If the roads on Torseau island are damanged, then there could be possibility of accidents. Possibly the roads on Blamer islands are in good condition irrespective of Torseau islands, then the chances of accidents in Balmer island must be low. Moreover, the reduction of moped rentals wouldn't affect the number of accidents in that case. Furthermore, their business may reduce by limiting the rentals. Therefore, a detailed analysis should be given by the author about the condition of roads where people are riding mopeds in order to make the argument cogent.

In conclusion, the author's argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it futher, the author should provide more concrete evidences, perhaps by the way of reliable survey about population, area and condition of roads of Balmer island. Finally to better assess the argument, it would be necessary to know more information about the same factors for Torseau island as well in order to assure whether the same rules can be applied to Balmer island or not.