The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"The population on Balmer Island doubles during the summer months. During the summer, then, the town council of Balmer Island should decrease the maximum number of moped rentals allowed at each of the island's six moped and bicycle rental companies from 50 per day to 30 per day. This will significantly reduce the number of summertime accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians. The neighboring island of Torseau actually saw a 50 percent reduction in moped accidents last year when Torseau's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals. To help reduce moped accidents, therefore, we should also enforce these limitations during the summer months."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the letter to the editor of Balmer Island Gazette, the author has concluded that to reduce moped accidents the town council of Balmer Island should follow the footsteps of Torseau Island and reduce the maximum number of moped and bicycle rentals. However, the author has overlooked various relevant points and made numerous fallacious assumptions during making this conclusion. Unless these relevant points are considered and the assumptions validated with substantial proof, I find it hard to believe that the reduction in accident observed in Torseau will also been seen in Balmer.

The author states that during summer the population of Balmer doubles but does not provide any evidence to support his assumption that all these people rent mopeds or bicycles. The increase could be simply due to students who return home during the summer break. They in turn could be accompanied by their friends. These people are unlikely to rent mopeds and bicycles as they will have their own means of communication. Tourists visiting Balmer may also bring their own means of communication – a car, moped or bicycle and not use the rental facility in Balmer. Thus, the author should provide detailed statistics to show that moped rentals indeed increase in summer. Only then can we support the idea that decreasing the rentals could plausibly reduce accidents.

Even if I assume the fact that most of the people visiting Balmer use the rental facilities, the author has provided no information to bolster his claim that the high rentals are responsible for the accidents. There are other possible reasons for accidents, which the author has conveniently overlooked. For example, the road conditions and traffic rules in Balmer may be very bad. Balmer island could lack proper footpaths and pedestrian crossings. There is also a possibility that the original residents of Balmer are rash drivers and are involved in most of the accidents. Another reason for accidents could be carelessness of pedestrians while walking on the road. One should also not ignore the fact that reducing bike and bicycle rentals may increase car rentals and this might have a detrimental effect on the number of accidents and increase the number of accidents. Unless other possible causes of accidents are not ruled out, it would be preposterous to say that reducing rentals will cause a decline in the number of accidents.

To support his claim, the author has finally given the example of Torseau where a decrease in moped and bicycle rental has been successful in decreasing the number of accidents. Here again there are loopholes in the arguments which the author needs to consider. Firstly, the author has assumed without any proof to support the same, that the two island are similar geographically and the results seen in Troseau will also be replicated in Balmer. The road condition and traffic rules in Torseau could be much better than those in Balmer. Similarly, the city council in Torseau have possible adopted other road safety measures that have resulted in a decline in the number of accidents. Also, the terrain of the two island could be different. Balmer could have hilly and tortuous roads where the probability of accidents is high and simply reducing the number of rental mopeds and bicycles will not have the desired effect. There could be another obvious reason for the decrease in accidents in Torseau. The number of people staying there has decreased and also the number of people visiting Torseau has lessened over the year. Therefore, there are less accidents. These points collectively or individually may contribute to the decrease in the number of accidents in Troseau which is not linked to decrease in rental limits.

With no cogent answers to address the points raised above, I would like to conclude that the author has failed to provide sufficient evidence in favor of his argument. To augment his claim, he should address the above concerns raised with proper statistical, demographic and geographical data. Only then can one believe his conclusion that limiting moped and bicycle rental in Balmer will reduce accidents.