The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"The population on Balmer Island increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island plans to limit the number of mopeds rented by each of the island's six moped rental companies from 50 per day to 30 per day during the summer season. Last year, the neighboring island of Torseau enforced similar limits on moped rentals and saw a 50 percent reduction in moped accidents. We predict that putting these limits into effect on Balmer Island will result in the same reduction in moped accidents."

In the letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette, it has been recommended to limit the number of mopeds rented by island's six rental companies to reduce the moped accidents because the island of Torseau also experienced a reduction in number of moped accidents after implementing similiar limits. However, while the conclusion drawn in the letter might hold water, it rests on several unfounded assumptions that if not substantiated, dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of the argument. Thus, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated, following questions must be answered.

First of all, limiting the mopeds by each company can hamper their profit rate and consequently effect Balmer's island economy. It may happen that Balmer's population receives a majority of their income from these companies, most of them may work in these companies, this can subsequently effect their lifestyles. If the population has increased, it means that more amount of money would be required by each family to sustain a living, if either of these cases has merit, then the conclusion drawn in the original statement is significantly weakened.

Secondly, even if the rented moped are reduced from 50 per day to 30 per day, there is not much assurance that the accidents may decrease. It is possible that the frequency of these 30 mopeds may be increased, thus having no impact from the enforcement of limits. Moreover, since it is summer period, there would be increased in number of tourists, thus there might be an increase in travelling vehicles, nullifying the decrease in moped vehicles. If either of these scenarios proves true, then the assertion made in the letter is considerably hampered.

Finally, Did the Torseau island had the same situation and number of population as the Balmer island? In other words, is there any assurance that imposing similiar limits would result in 50 percent reduction in number of mopeds accidents in Balmer islands as well? Perhaps, it is possible that Torseau island may not have experienced an increase in population and that might have reduced the number of accidents to half of the earlier one. If the above is true, the argument might does not hold water.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwanted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the above three questions or points and offer more evidence (perhaps in the form of a systematic research study), then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viablilty of propsed recommendation that limiting rented mopeds would reduce the number of accidents involving same.