The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"The population on Balmer Island increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island plans to limit the number of mopeds rented by each of the island's six moped rental companies from 50 per day to 30 per day during the summer season. Last year, the neighboring island of Torseau enforced similar limits on moped rentals and saw a 50 percent reduction in moped accidents. We predict that putting these limits into effect on Balmer Island will result in the same reduction in moped accidents.“

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

According to the letter, the editor of the Balmer Island argued that the town council of Balmer Island should reduce the number of accidents including mopeds and pedestrians through restriction which limit moped rental companies to rent only 30 mopeds per day. It seems reasonable at first, however, weak predictions led me to question the reliability of the argument.

First, we should consider whether the argument asserting that increaed population of Balmer Island is one of the factor of the moped accidents. It is possible that accidents rate increase would be accompanied with arisen population. However, it is questionable that the increased population is significant or not, 100,000 number of people might be trivial number that could not influence any changes in accidents which is because initial population of the Island is already huge. Even if the increased population is significant enough to change the accident rate, the town council should watch it in the long run because it has not been proved that population boom has affect any accident increase.

Second, council should not blindly follow the restriction policy of Torseau, because of different culture and envirionment. For example, the previous rental number of mopeds per rental shop might be exorbitant that it was main problem that cause many accidents. So, the suppress of Torseau which squash rental companies to rent lesser was efficacious. However, the initial number of the Balmer Island is already minute that if the council restrict the rental shop many people in the Island might bespeak their complain. The number of increased population is 100,000 in three weeks, it is very huge number comparing with 300 mopeds per day in Balmer Island.

Lastly, the editor has misunderstand the problem that the accidents of the pedestrain could not be reduced by decreasing number of mopeds. the town council could curtail the mopeds accident by reducing number of moped but not pedestrain. Since there are many factors that affect pedestrian accident not only mopeds, such as mal paved sidewalks and roads.

In summary, the editor’s arguments seem unconvincing in many grounds. To bolster the assertion the editor should afford more reasonable and rational preditions to reduce the accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians.