"The city of Grandview has provided annual funding for the Grandview Symphony since the symphony's inception ten years ago. Last year the symphony hired an internationally known conductor, who has been able to attract high-profile guest musicians to perform with the symphony. Since then, private contributions to the symphony have doubled and attendance at the symphony's concerts-in-the-park series has reached new highs. Now that the Grandview Symphony is an established success, it can raise ticket prices. Increased revenue from larger audiences and higher ticket prices will enable the symphony to succeed without funding from the city government."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the memo, the author argues that increased revenue from larger audiences and higher ticket prices will enable the Grandview Symphony to succeed without funding from the city government. It seems convincing at first, however, lack of evidence leads me to question the soundness of the argument.

Fisrt, the author should give more credible evidence on increased attandace. It is too hasty to judge that the symphony could succed since they have doubled audiences. If the initial number of the attendance is marginal that doubled number of them is not significant. Moreover, the increased number of audiences might be aberation that the new conductor who is internationally famous was original in first year. The increased attendance might be either aberation or insignificant.

Second, more detail evidence should be provided on the ticket prices and other expenses of the symphony. To succeed, the symphony should not increase their ticket prices until it sustain adequate audiences to keep its profit. The financial condition of the symphony should be viewed in a long run, one year cannot indicate the further success. It is too hasty for the symphony to stand alone from the government funding.

Finally, the author should afford more concrete evidence on the income and expenses of the Symphony. The Grandview Symphony should consider the exact profit and loss, to elaborate, to retain the internationally famous conductor and high-profile musicians, the symphony have to cover the most highest wage ever since their inception. It should be approved that incresed revenue would not be override by the expense which was also increased.

In summary, the author’s argument seems unconvincing on many grounds. To bolster the argument more information should be considered and more detail evidence are needed on the symphony without funding.