The following appeared in a memo to the board of the Grandview Symphony.

"The city of Grandview has provided annual funding for the Grandview Symphony since the symphony's inception ten years ago. Last year the symphony hired an internationally known conductor, who has been able to attract high-profile guest musicians to perform with the symphony. Since then, private contributions to the symphony have doubled and attendance at the symphony's concerts-in-the-park series has reached new highs. Now that the Grandview Symphony is an established success, it can raise ticket prices. Increased revenue from larger audiences and higher ticket prices will enable the symphony to succeed without funding from the city government."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author cites that symphony's funding increase due to conductor who has been able to attract high-profile guest musicians to perform with the symphony. Furthermore, the author also says that attendance in symphony's concerts have doubled after performance with high-profile guest musicians. Though, I refute this claim due to some loopholes in this claim and some assumptions which are made by the author in his claim.

Initially, we can say that the author have not given proper numerical data for increase in attendance as well as relation which states high-profile guests' performance with symphony with other performance of symphony after that. The symphony's performance impacts same as their performance with experts. This is the biggest assumption made by the author without giving particular relation between this two different performance. The author implies that attendance of people have doubled and increase in tickets prices help the symphony for funding itself. But the author have not given numerical data regarding how many attendance is before performance of experts with the symphony? How much prices they have raised? Is this raised price enough to funding their concerts.

Secondly, the author cites that city government was funding in past which was now funded by the symphony itself. Although, the author forgets to cite adverse effect of hiked price. He has not given overall information regarding the raise in money and he has also not given information about fees of conductor. Hence, the author has given answers to questions. Like, how much the symphony pays to conductor? Is money which is obtained by hiked price enough to pay conductor and still it can fund their concerts? To answer this questions, the author has given numerical value of money

At the end, the author cites that conductor help to invite experts to the symphony concerts. But he has not given information about the conductor who they are and how they work? The author have to give information about this conductor.

To bolster his claim, the author has given numerical data regarding funding, information about conductors and remove assumptions which were made by him without any basis.