The vice president for human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following recommendation to the company's president.

"In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations. Employees who use the Internet inappropriately from their workstations need to be identified and punished if we are to reduce the number of work hours spent on personal or recreational activities, such as shopping or playing games. Installing software on company computers to detect employees' Internet use is the best way to prevent employees from wasting time on the job. It will foster a better work ethic at Climpson and improve our overall profits."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the recommandation, the vice president argues that Climpson Industry should implement electronic monitoring of employees’ Internet use in order to improve the company’s productivity. Apparently, it seems convincing but lack of evidence leads me to question the compelling of the argument.

Firstly, the author should give more evidence on effectiveness of punishiment. Employee’s personal hours could not decreased by identifying and punishing. This is because they spend their time not only Internet but also the others such as smartphone, nabbing and going to toilet. The time they spend on Internet might be marginal than the time they spend on other personal things. Thus, it is not effective to identify their Internet use and punish them.

Secondly, more detail evidence on software running should be afforded. Nowadays, the employees can surf on Internet not only with the computer but also with their smartphone devices. Using smartphone is much better for them to use Internet secretly and also it is difficult to findout whether they use Internet or not. Therefore, it is not effective way to establish the software program to reduce the wasted time from the employees.

Finally, the author should give more concrete evidence on cost and profit. Running a software program is quiet demanding to Climpson Industry. There are many reasons for this. FIrst, the company have to pay for the program and also installing fee. Second, the program must be managed by person who must be paid. Lastly, identifying and punishing also need extra hour from the working hour. Thus, the entire time and cost that electronic monitoring might consum should be considered, they might override the initial cost and wasting time.

In summary, the author’s argument is unconving in many grounds. To bolster the argument, the author should look into the problem and circumstance more deeply in order to give more concrete evidence.