The following appeared in a letter to the school board in the town of Centerville.

"All students should be required to take the driver's education course at Centerville High School. In the past two years, several accidents in and around Centerville have involved teenage drivers. Since a number of parents in Centerville have complained that they are too busy to teach their teenagers to drive, some other instruction is necessary to ensure that these teenagers are safe drivers. Although there are two driving schools in Centerville, parents on a tight budget cannot afford to pay for driving instruction. Therefore an effective and mandatory program sponsored by the high school is the only solution to this serious problem."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

According to the letter, the author’s argument seems convincing at first, however, lack of assumptions lead me to question the credibility of the argument. The author should consider more various assumptions that might be based.

First, the author should correct the error that car accidents in and around the Centerville occured becasue of the teenagers’ maladroit driving skill. The teenagers might be victims not assailants. There are two plausible assumptions for this. Bad and irregular road condition might be the first one. It was uneven road that cause many car accidents. The other assumption, the author has to consider, is whether teenagers are victims or not. For example, the other drivers might be a reason for the car accidents. It is compelling, since the local driving school is expensive and there are still many adults who attained drivers’ licence lately that might have no chance to improve their driving skills.

Second, the author’s assumption about highschool driving program should be considered in depth. The author overlook the extra cost that new driving program will demand. The new mandatory program will require teachers from off-school, used car for driving, text books and addtional facilities. The cost from those things might override the tuition for the local driving school. Moreover, it is possible that driving school in other town may be cheap enough to go. Those another assumptions make author’s assumptions seem weak.

Finally, the assumption based on the number of parents who are not poor and busy that their teenage children could not take driving class in local school, should be substantiated. A number of parents could not represent the whole parents of the teenagers in Centerville. And also, it is too hasty for the author to judge that there is no way to teach their children driving becauses their parents are poor and busy. It is parents’ excuse not their poor and tight schedule that deter their children from learn how to drive. Furthermore, there could be some one how can teach the teenagers not only their parents.

In summary, the author’s arguments seem unconvincing on many grounds becauses of the weak presumptions. For the reasons I mentioned above, I believe that the author and the parents of the teenagers in Centerville should consider the assumptions they made, more deeply.