People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

There are many people in the world with diverse races, cultures, countries, genders and so on. Thus, I partially agree with the contention, it is too hasty to judge that all people’s behavior is largely determined by the forces not of their making. We should scrutinize various cases to judge the statement.

In case of adolescents, it is possible that adults like parents and teachers attempt to control teenagers. This is because they are still immature and susceptible to detrimental factors around them, such as violence, salacious contents and crime. It is better for the adolescents to be suppress by the adults near them, since they are very instinctive and impulsive. Without anxiousness and constrains, those features would led them to cause problem or hazzardous situations. Therefore, it is likely the youngsters behavior is commonly decided by other factors, especially their parents.

In addition, not only teenagers’ action is afffected by factors from outside, adults’ behavior is also affected by the external forces. For example, Pol Pot, the leader of the Khmer Rouge which was government party of the Cambodia in 20century. Pol Pot had annihilated the quarter of the country’s total population in order to found great agrian communism country. The massacred people were artists, partisans, intelligence and so on that was considered as a individual that might hamper the found of agrian country. Moreover, people who against the government were mired in poverty and finally got killed. It was not possible for them to make their own decision even if they have different ideologies. Therefore, I partially agree with the author’s contetion.

However, on the otherhand, some people does not have to follow the external force in making their own decisions. For instance, Thomas Edison, a preeminent scientist in the world, decided to invent his own light bulb even there were external forces. Short lasting, unaffordable light bulb was prevalent that only moneyed people could relish the artificial light. It was more lucrative for the scientist to create expensive light bulb. However, Edison did not follow the contemporaries and trend, he made decision to invent long lasting affordable light bulb for the public. Due to his independent decision making, it allow more people to use light and allow him to became accomplished scientist.

In breif, it is likely that many people’s behavior is generally determined by external forces, however, an example of Thomas Edison has led me to question the author’s contention. Therfore, I partially agree with the author’s argument for the reasons I mentioned above.