When Stanley Park first opened, it was the largest, most heavily used public park in town. It is still the largest park, but it is no longer heavily used. Video cameras mounted in the park's parking lots last month revealed the park's drop in popularity: the recordings showed an average of only 50 cars per day. In contrast, tiny Carlton Park in the heart of the business district is visited by more than 150 people on a typical weekday. An obvious difference is that Carlton Park, unlike Stanley Park, provides ample seating. Thus, if Stanley Park is ever to be as popular with our citizens as Carlton Park, the town will obviously need to provide more benches, thereby converting some of the unused open areas into spaces suitable for socializing.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

According to the letter Stanley Park decided to place more benches in the park in order to convert some of useless areas into socializing spaces. However, the decision lead me to question the efficiency because of weak assumptions. The author’s presumptions are not compelling in a few reasons.

First, the author postulates that video cameras which are mounted in the park’s parking lots decrease the popularity of the park, in last month. It is grounless that video cameras affect the popularity, it is plausible that the cameras might diminish the popularity, but the decreased number might be insignificant that the amount of declined number was in common variation range. Even the number of cars decreased it does not mead the decrease of the popularity in the park, people might visited the park on their foot. Moreover, if the last month’s popularity decreased also. It might be aberration caused by other factors like bad weather condition or ill economy condition in the town, so it is better for the Stanley Park to look in a long run.

In addition, the daily population of Carlton Park, 150 people per weekday, is not common number that soar only in a typical weekday. It is possible that there is severe vacillation that make significant gap between weekdays. Even the popularity is regularly high, people visit the Park not because of plenty of benches but because of the other facilities such as toilet, hotdog cart and so on. It is not necessary for Stanley Park to place extra benches in the park. Maybe it is more better for the park to replace the dead area into sports section which help the citizens to enjoy sports, pet walk and extra activities.

In summary, the author’s assumptions are so weak on many grounds that I could not have a reservation on it. As I mentioned above the author should contemplate more about the rudimental reasons of the problem and solutions.