The following appeared in a memorandum written by the vice president of Health Naturally, a small but expanding chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products.

"Our previous experience has been that our stores are most profitable in areas where residents are highly concerned with leading healthy lives. We should therefore build one of our new stores in Plainsville, which clearly has many such residents. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise equipment are at all-time highs. The local health club, which nearly closed five years ago due to lack of business, has more members than ever, and the weight-training and aerobics classes are always full. We can even anticipate a new generation of customers: Plainsville's schoolchildren are required to participate in a program called Fitness for Life, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age.“

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

According to the memorandum the author argues that Health Naturally should expand chain of stores in Plainville which residents are higly concerned with healthy lives, since their previous stores has been most profitable in areas where residents are higly interested in healthy lives. The author’s assumptions seems convincing at first, however, there are errors in the assumptions.

First, the author assumes, since merchants report about Plainsville’s sales of running shoes increased that their stores might make their profits. The author should consider that it is too hasty to judge that people exercise are interested in healthy life, also. It is plausible that people are interested in healthy life are likely to work out but exercise does not mean they are concerned with healthy lives. Thus, increased sales of running shoes and exercise equipment in Plainville, according to the merchants report, does not demonstrate that residents are leading healthy lives, it is possible that they relish their leisure time not to improve their health but to relish sports.

Second, the assumptions about recently increased number of the health club member should be contemplated by the author. The increased health club member is due to the resuscitation of the economy not becauses of the their increased health interests. It is plausible that economy condition of last 5 years might be bad that people cannot workout. Even if the residents who pay for the gym are interested in healthy lives, the number of the residents might be not sufficient enough to increase the stores profit.

Third, the students who participated in Fitness for Life program does not mean that the students are interested in healthy lives and they would buy healthy food or health-related products for their ones. It is likely that many number of students are imposed to participate in the program, even if they are willing to participate in the program, as I mentioned above, regular exercise does not means that students are higly concerned with their health.

In summary, the author’s assumptions are quite unconvincing in many grounds. The number of people who exercise, the increased number of health club members and the students who participate in a regular exercise program cannot be generalized as they are interested in healty lives, It is too reckless for the author to judge that those can increase the profit of their health stores, the author should investigate more on interests about healthy lives in Plainsville through more detail assumtions and evidences.