The following appeared in a letter to the school board in the town of Centerville.

"All students should be required to take the driver's education course at Centerville High School. In the past two years several accidents in and around Centerville have involved teenage drivers. Since a number of parents in Centerville have complained that they are too busy to teach their teenagers to drive, some other instruction is necessary to ensure that these teenagers are safe drivers. Although there are two driving schools in Centerville, parents on a tight budget cannot afford to pay for driving instruction. Therefore an effective and mandatory program sponsored by the high school is the only solution to this serious problem."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The following argument is flawed for numerous reasons. Primarily, the argument is based on on the unwarranted assumption that in the past two years teenage drivers have been vicitm of several accidents, rendering its main conclusion (that students should be required to take driver's exercise at Centerville High School), invalid. The author fails to mention several key factors on the basis of which it could be evaluated. Hence, the argument is considered unsubtantiated and incomplete.

First of all, the argument readily assumes that teenage driver have been involved in SEVERAL accidents in and around the town of Centreville. This is merely an assumption that is made without a solid ground. For instance, what's the exact number of accidents that have happened in Centerville and how many were caused by teenage drivers? Are the accidents caused by teenage drivers who reside in the town or outside the town? Hence, the argument would have been much more convincing if it explicitly provide evidences that tell the number/percenatage of teenage drivers from Centerville that were enagaged in accidents.

The argument readily claims that the some parents complained that they are too busy to give their children drivers' education. This is again a weak and unsupported claim. The exact number or percentage of the parents that complained is needed to show the reliabilty of the author's claim. Even if the complaints fully represent the whole parents, there is no evidence to show they are not teaching their children. If the argument had provided these evidences, then it would have been a lot more convincing to the reader.

Finally, the author assumes again that enrolling teenage drivers in driving school would reduce the accident rate in Centerville. This also is an unwarranted claim. What if the teenagers involved in accidents in and around the town have actually received proper education but need to work on their driving mindset? The author has to provide information that lack of driving lesson is the cause of accidents that involved teenage drivers.

All in all, the author's claim is incomplete. To strengthen the argument, the author has to provide aforementioned information additionally. Without further proper evidence, the author's assertion includes a lot of logical flaws.