In a laboratory study of two different industrial cleansers, CleanAll was found to remove 40% more dirt and kill 30% more bacteria than the next best cleanser. Furthermore, a study showed that employees working at buildings cleaned with cleanAll used far fewer sick leaves than employees working in the buildings cleaned with the other cleaners. Therefore, to prevent employee illness, all companies should use CleanAll as their industrial cleaners.

Write the response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author claims here that all companies should use CleanALL as their major industrial cleanser. Stated in this way, the argument fails to mention several key factors, on the basis of which it could be evaluated . In support of this conclusion, the author reasons that cleanall was found to remove more dirt and kill more bacterial than the next best alternative cleanser. However, careful scrutiny of the evidence <!--break--> reveals that it provides little credible support for the author’s conclusion. Hence the argument can be considered incomplete or unsubstantiated. To bolster further, I would elucidate in subsequent paragraphs.

First of all, the argument readily assumes that Clean-all takes away 40% more dirt than next best competitor. This is merely an assumption made without much solid ground. For example, what if the experiment wasn't properly conducted by well skilled lab scientist? what if the test wasn't properly conducted using the standard laboratory operating procedures? Hence, the argument would have been much more convincing if it explicitly stated that the investigation was done by professionals using the conventional techniques.

The argument readily claims that clean-all eliminates more bacterial. This again is a weak and unsupported claim as it does not provide enough information to support the bacterial removal claim. For instance, which device was used to arrive at this conclusion? was a microscopic device used? If the argument had provided evidence that a microscope was used during the experiment then it would have been a lot more convincing to the reader.

Finally, the author cites that staff of companies using Clean-all for cleaning purpose spend fewer days on sick leave than those who clean with other cleaners. However, careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides little credible support for the author’s conclusion in several critical respects, and raises several skeptical questions. For example, what if the employees in the building that uses clean-all have good health insurance plan that caters for their health as soon as possible? What if the staff have good stress management programs to manage work overload? Without convincing answers to these questions, the reader is left with the impression that the claims made by the author are more of a wishful thinking rather than substantive evidence.

In conclusion, the author’s argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To elucidate further, the author must provide better concrete evidence, perhaps by way of a detailed analysis of the importance of Clean-all over other alternative cleansers. Finally, evaluate the argument, it would be necessary to know more information about why employees in the companies that use clean-all spend less days off work due to illness.