In a lab study of 2 different industrial cleansers, CleanAll was found to remove 40% more dirt and kill 30% more bacteria than the next best cleanser. Furthermore, a study showed that employees working at buildings cleaned with CleanAll used far fewer sick days than employees working at buildings cleaned with other cleansers. Therefore, to prevent employee illness, all companies should use CleanAll as their industrial cleanser.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The writer of this claim having gone through a lab study of two industrial cleansers lays certain vague assumptions about industrial cleaning. He posits that a cleanser named Clean All is more effective than other industrial cleansers as it removes 40% more dirt and 30% more bacteria than the next best cleanser and as such should be used by all companies. This generalization is faulty and would be contested briefly in the succeeding paragraphs.

Though Clean All can be said to have efficient cleansing ability, it still remains absurd to think that a study of just two industrial cleansers would be sufficient to hold such a conclusion. What if they were several other cleansers that had better purifying properties other than Clean All and the unnamed other? What if a certain industrial company secretly uses a more potent cleanser and by the aid of the government restricts this cleanser from getting to other industrial companies. Did the writer ever consider that the two industrial cleansers that were studied were used primarily by just a percentage of labs clustered in the small city of Manitoba and therefore isn't sufficient to represent the total usage of other cities. How consistent were the results? Could the cleanser remove exactly 40% more dirt and 30% more bacterial year long? Were the dirt all of the same kind or was the cleanser just useful for cleansing a particular oil stain. This claim engenders a whole lot of questions left unanswered.

Furthermore the writer believes that Clean All should be used by all companies as a means of preventing employee illnesses. He corroborates his statement by laying emphasis about companies that uses Clean All as their industrial cleanser having employees with far fewer sick leaves. This claim can be made faulty as it’s very likely that employees in this company actually report just very few cases of their illnesses as reporting these cases could make the company relieve them of their duties barring their recovery and as such impart negatively on their salaries. Thus they are less likely to be sincere with their health thereby reporting lesser cases than expected.

Additionally, the writer seems so concerned about making his notion more appealing than taking note of crucial details. If not so, the writer should be aware of the recent publication of the nation's most reputable news network about how an indigenous leading company in the country struck a deal on supplies of organic cleansers from a neighboring nation. The most striking thing about this deal is that it was initiated by a company known for utilizing Clean All cleansers for decades. It leaves us really puzzled and with a lot of boxes to tick. Is it really possible for a big playmaker in the industry to invest in another cleanser if the ”glorious” Clean All cleanser was that effective ? Could it be that the cleanser though previously used for it’s effectiveness before now had now been less effective therefore companies investing in other cleansers? Could it also be that the acclaimed lab results was disingenuous and was made to be biased in order to save a potential sales decline situation?

Conclusively, the writer should work more on providing evidential supports on subsequent positions especially when it concerns a large population rather than relying on mere assumptions or inconclusive data.