The following appeared in a letter to the school board in the town of Centerville.

"All students should be required to take the driver's education course at Centerville High School. In the past two years, several accidents in and around Centerville have involved teenage drivers. Since a number of parents in Centerville have complained that they are too busy to teach their teenagers to drive, some other instruction is necessary to ensure that these teenagers are safe drivers. Although there are two driving schools in Centerville, parents on a tight budget cannot afford to pay for driving instruction. Therefore an effective and mandatory program sponsored by the high school is the only solution to this serious problem."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

According to the letter, the author’s argument seems convincing at first, however, lack of assumptions lead me to question the credibility of the argument. The author should consider more various assumptions that might be based.

First, the author should consider the assumption that teenagers’ car accidents which occured in and around Centerville might not because of the teenagers’ maladroit driving but the other factors. For example, the other drivers might be one reason of the car accidents with teenagers. Since, the driving school is not affordable to many of the adult who attained drivers’ licence lately might not be fine drivers. In addition, the bad road condition of Centerville lead many drivers to make car accident which involve teenagers.

Second, another assumption should be considered on the highschool instruction, it might be more expensive than local driving school, since there are no driving teacher in highschool, it has to employ driving teacher from the off-campus, the author should consider the cost of mandatory program, also. Moreover, we can consider the driving school from the other town which might be more affordable.

Finally, the assumption should be considered on the number of parents who are not affordable to send their children to local driving school. A number of parents could nor represent the whole parents of the teenagers in Centerville. And also, it is too hasty for the author to judge that the most of the parents who are busy are also not affordable to send their children to the driving school. Some of the parents are not busy can teach their children how to drive while saving their budget.

In summary, the author’s argument seems unconving on many grounds becauses of the lack of assumptions. I believe that highschool mandatory program is not the only way that can teach teenagers effectively. People of the town should consider the road condition, the exact number of parents who cannot teach their children driving, the cost of the school program and the driving school in other town.