The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a Batavia newspaper.

"The department of agriculture in Batavia reports that the number of dairy farms throughout the country is now 25 percent greater than it was 10 years ago. During this same time period, however, the price of milk at the local Excello Food Market has increased from $1.50 to over $3.00 per gallon. To prevent farmers from continuing to receive excessive profits on an apparently increased supply of milk, the Batavia government should begin to regulate retail milk prices. Such regulation is necessary to ensure fair prices for consumers."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author in the report accuses dairy farmers of obtaining an inordinate profits by raising up the milk price while producing more milk. But close scrutiny shows that this would be an unfounded accusation if the author does not answer two questions: Is there truly an increased supply in milk at Batavia? Does the milk price really go up at Batavia?

Citing a report from the department of agriculture, the author concludes the supply of milk in Batavia has increased. While the report does show that dairy farms has grown 25 percent in number throughout the country, but whether Batavia specifically is undergoing the same level of increase is unclear. It is completely possible that there are less dairy farms in Batavia or the number remains unchanged while overall the country has more dairy farms. This would be the first question the author needs to answer.

Furthermore, even if there are indeed more dairy farms in Batavia as well, the increased amount of dairy farms does not always indicate a higher milk production. Many other issues, such as the availability of grasslands and the average number of cows in each dairy farm, also have impact on the final milk production. If there are less grasslands due to some other factor such as human activities, the cows would have less food, and thus producing less milk. These are all the questions that the author needs to investigate before concluding there is an “apparent” growth in milk supply in Batavia.

The author then implies the local price of milk at Batavia has gone up by arguing that the milk price at one specific store, which is the local Excello Food Market, has increased from $1.5 to over $3.0 per gallon. What about other stores? Did the price of milk also escalate? Price rise in one store is inadequate to prove the average price has also increased on the market. The author needs to answer these questions before determining if the average price of milk has really increased. Moreover, inflation also affects milk price. For example, if the inflation rate over the past ten years turns out greater than the rate of price rise, the milk would be technically cheaper and more affordable than it was ten years ago.

While the author may feel indignant about the increased price of milk, he would need to evaluate more evidences and answer the questions above to conclude that the farmer are making more profits, otherwise the recommendation is unjustified.