Although innovations such as video, computers, and the Internet seem to offer schools improved methods for instructing students, these technologies all too often distract from real learning.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

There has been no time in history where people have enjoyed more convenience from the advancement of technology. The advent of Internet, especially has revolutionized people's daily life. It innovates the way people can receive information by providing a different way of communication. An increasing number of institutes are also seeking to utilize Internet to enhance create teaching methods. However, many people have showed apprehension that Internet could bring unfavorable effects when it is applied to class. They may argue that Internet-based teaching approach is more likely to distract students, but I do not completely agree with the statement.

First of all, it depends on each individual whether he or she is easily distracted. Back in the times when there was no Internet, students still got distracted in class. Some people are simply more concentrated when they do anything. My father, for example, can always focus on his work, no matter how loud the environment is. When I was in high school, my little brother was only 5 years old and tended to be boisterous in our house. He could randomly scream and burst into laughters or accidentally break something. Everyone could constantly hear the sound in the house. But my father was always preoccupied on his work, without even noticing what was going on. In contrast, I was more easily distracted, so oftentimes I had to stay in the library all day long to finish my homework, instead of at home. Therefore, Internet-based teaching approach will not cause any distraction for students who are more concentrated.

In addition, classes could be more captivating with the help with Internet, so it inspires students’ interests and make them more focused on the class. Unlike traditional textbook, Internet offers multi-media to assist teaching, which typically attracts students’ attentions. For instance, selected images can be accompanied with *vocabularies in an English class, which draws students’ attention and helps students remember new words. In history class, teachers may play related documentaries in class so that students can learn from the video with interest. Internet allows new opportunities to make classes more lively and colorful, which enhances instead of inhibits real learning.

Furthermore, there are straightforward ways to make Internet-based teaching methods not a distraction. When teachers employ computers to assist teaching, they can use a dedicated system that only has resources for study, such as the slides. For example, there are no games in the system, nor can students access irrelevant websites for any kind of entertainment. Under such circumstances, the computer is no different from a conventional textbook, except that it uses digital device to display and receive information. How can it diverts students’ attention from the class? Most schools I know have already adopted this approach, and it has been proved highly feasible and effective.

In conclusion, Internet technology has brought tremendous improvements to our lives. In the same way, it can also innovates how teachers instruct students, making the class more vivid and efficient. There is no need to be concerned about that students could get distracted by the new method, as long as it makes learning more interesting and can be distraction-free.