The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

A letter from a store owner in Central Plaza to the editor of a publication, asserts that if skateboarding is prohibited customers would be more inclined to start shopping at Central Plaza again. The evidence used to support this solution is an increase in skateboarding popularity over the last two years, decreased sales over the last two years, and increased vandalism and litter. A cursory glance at this evidence doesn’t prove this proposal will solve the problem and there are a three more questions that need to be answered.

First of all, has it been proven that the skateboarders are vandalizing and littering in the mall? Can we assume that skateboarders vandalize and litter more than other patrons of the mall? Since there hasn’t been evidence presented to identify who is vandalizing and littering in the mall, one can assume that mall patrons that aren’t skateboarders are equally capable of littering and vandalizing. Until the store owner can provide data to prove who the vandals and patrons who litter this remains a logical fallacy.

Secondly, are we sure the skateboarders aren’t paying customers? Skateboarders who go to the mall may very well be part of the few paying customers the mall still has. If those customers are prohibited from using the mall to skateboard, the store owners may find that they are losing more revenue.

Lastly, is there really a correlation between the popularity of skateboarding and the decline in sales at Central Plaza? One would think that there are much more relevant trends and reasons for a decline in sales, such as online shopping, residents moving to other areas, or old patrons shopping in other malls. One way for store owners to increase sales is to diversify their sales strategy by using social media and other platforms. They may find that they are able to make up for losses using these strategies and no longer focus on prohibiting skateboarders in the mall.

In conclusion, the argument is not supported well by the evidence given. To get a clearer picture of how prohibiting skateboarders will help sales, there should be more data collected and compared with data from at least 3 years when sales were better. This data will show a correlation, if any, and give credence to the recommendation.