The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

The author claims that the decrease in number of Central Plaza store users is due to the increase in the number of skateboard users. Stated this way, the argument distorts the view of the situation by manipulating facts and providing weak evidences. To justify the recommendation, the author notes that there has been an increase in the amount of litter and vandalism in the plaza after the rise in the popularity of skateboarding. However, careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides little credible support for the author’s recommendation. Hence the argument can be considered incomplete or unsubstantiated.

First of all, the argument readily assumes that decrease in the number of customers of the store is because of the increase in the number of skateboarders. This is merely an assumption made without much solid ground. There could be several other factors responsible for the decline in shoppers. For example, people might simply not prefer buying items from that store because of the reduced quality. There might have been a new store that opened up with products of new brands that people are excited to try out. Or there might have been a change in the kind of products that the store sells because of which people are less inclined to buy from that store anymore. If that is the case, the suggested recommendation would make no difference to the number of customers of the store.

The argument readily attributes litter and vandalism to the skateboarder users. This reflects poor judgment as the author is stereotyping the skateboarders. Several other people could be reason for vandalism and litter in the store. For instance, the litter could be by the regular customers(non-skateboarders) or even the store staff. Every store should have CCTV cameras installed for situations precisely like this. The store owner could check the footages to know who exactly is responsible for the litter. If the videos prove that the customers or staff are the culprits, then there would no use in prohibiting skateboarding in the hope of increasing the customers. That would, in fact, lose the skateboarder shoppers who are probably more loyal customers of the store.

Finally, the owner fails to consider the possibility of the store being located in an inaccessible part of the city. If a new store opened up in a prime location, people might find it more convenient to walk down their street for their daily groceries than drive a longer way to Central Plaza. The store owner should have been mindful of the store location as it is one of the key factors affecting customers’ convenience. If location is the reason that some customers stopped going to Central Plaza, then skateboarders have nothing to do with the decrease in the number of shoppers. In that case, the recommendation of prohibiting skateboarding is impertinent.

In conclusion, the store owner’s argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the owner must provide more concrete evidence, perhaps by observing the footages of the store or a detailed analysis of the kind and quality of goods sold in the store. Finally, it would be necessary to consider all the relevant factors that play a role in better evaluation a recommendation. Without this kind of knowledge, the recommendation remains unsupported and futile.