The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a local newspaper.

"Commuters complain that increased rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time. The favored proposal of the motorists' lobby is to widen the highway, adding an additional lane of traffic. But last year's addition of a lane to the nearby Green Highway was followed by a worsening of traffic jams on it. A better alternative is to add a bicycle lane to Blue Highway. Many area residents are keen bicyclists. A bicycle lane would encourage them to use bicycles to commute, and so would reduce rush-hour traffic rather than fostering an increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The writer argues that adding a bicycle lane to Blue highway will reduce rush hour traffic. It is based on the premises that residents are enthusiastic about riding a bicycle and highlighted the failure of the widening of a highway to Green Highway, which actually resulted in worsening of traffic. The argument seems true at first sight, however, on deeper analysis it becomes clear that certain relevant aspects have not been taken into account, leading to a number of unverified evidences and logical flaws.

One such unverified evidence is sampling error. In other words the writer has assumed that since additional of a lane to Green Highway was futile effort, thus, it would not be successful, if implemented, for Blue Highway. However, there may be the case that addition of a lane to Green Highway was designed in such a way that it connected all roads leading to the most traveled destination, thus after adding it, all commuters have started to use this new lane and even commuters from other locations started using it since it provided them the shorter route. Or it may also be the case that in order to advertise this new route, authorities opened up road side outlets for selling foods and other items, leading to massive traffic jam. Therefore, in order to overcome this flaw, the writer should have considered evidences identifying the causes for traffic jam on this new lane.

Moreover, the writer has not verified the analogy. In other words, the writer has assumed that the distance between the city and the place where commuters usually travel to is able to be covered by bicycle. However, there may be the case that majority of these residents use this Blue Highway to travel a distance of 25 km to reach to their distance, thus to cover such a large distance commuters would prefer a car or motorcycle. For example, the study, conducted by Automobile Association of India in 2000 covered all 3 major highways, has concluded that distance which is greater than 15 km one way is not preferred by commuters to cover it by walking or riding a bicycle since this was causing them excessive exhaustion and making them weak for the day, thus affecting their work performance. Therefore, to render this argument valid, the writer should demonstrate the preferences of commuters to travel a specific distance.

Finally, the writer has arbitrarily ignored the evidence for cause and effect. In other words, the writer has assumed that only this area residents are using the Blue Highway and since they are keen on riding a bicycle, adding a bicycle land would address their issue. However, there may be the case that majority of commuters who are using this highway are not from this area, but rather use this highway since it connects well to the city centre in terms of short distance. Moreover, it may also be the case that though the residents are interested in cycling, but their interest does not transform into using the bicycle to cover this distance since they use bicycle only for the purpose of exercise but may be unwilling to use cycle while going to office in formal dress. Therefore, to strengthen the argument, the writer would need to prove that only these residents are using the highway and they would use it for going to office as well.

While concluding, after close examination of the argument presented, it is apparent that the argument as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on certain unverified evidences. The recommendations in the above paragraphs show how this argument may be strengthened and made more logically sound to analyse the viability of the proposed measure.