The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a local newspaper.

"Commuters complain that increased rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time. The favored proposal of the motorists' lobby is to widen the highway, adding an additional lane of traffic. But last year's addition of a lane to the nearby Green Highway was followed by a worsening of traffic jams on it. A better alternative is to add a bicycle lane to Blue Highway. Many area residents are keen bicyclists. A bicycle lane would encourage them to use bicycles to commute, and so would reduce rush-hour traffic rather than fostering an increase".

The prompt encourages the municipality to adding a bicycle lane to Blue highway to contribute to congestion problem. although at first glance the proposal seems plausible, it is deficiant in evidence and perhaps groundless.

first, the word "many" used to discribe the quantity of keen bicylists seems dubios. it is not clear whether those many keen people constitute an appreciable amount of the whole commuters or they are large in absolute quality and minor in relative terms. For instance, there may be a thousand of commuters using the highway every day, and the number of avid cyclists may not be more than a hundred. In this case, although we can designate those avid people "many", but they clearly do not make up a considerable proportionate of the whole commuters. In fact, we need to know the number of commuters and the quantity of possible bicyclists in order to judge the proposal accurately.

Another problem is about author's claim about encouraging keen bicyclists. To be sure, a gift of bicycle lane is always welcomed by bicylce fans; however, it may not encourage them to put their cars aside and try commuting by bicylce. it is possible that those commuters take a long way to work each day, making it difficult or irrational to do that using a bicylce. Again as an example, if an average commuter travels for 20 kilometers from home to work or vice versa, it would take approximately 30 minutes and of course a lot of energy to use bicycle for those commutes. if we are going to judge the proposal's viability, the author would be better to provide us the average distance which a commuter travels each day.

The last but not the least, is that maybe the author is overlooking an important factor, which is the increasing number of cars over time. The author claims that widening the Green highway did not mitigate the congestion problem, even seemed to exacerbate that. although, is is possible that adding a new lane for cars actually worked out, and for a fixed number of cars it would decrease the congestion; however, due to the increasing numbers of cars over time, more and more people show up in streets each day. Therefore, the widening plan was not necessarily futile and we need the total number of cars in the city to evaluate the efficacy of that plan.

In sum, the author seems to base his judgment on insufficient evidences. it would be better if he presented the actual numbers and precise statistics upon which a rational judgement would have made.