The following appeared as a letter to the editor of a national newspaper.

"Your recent article on corporate downsizing* in Elthyria maintains that the majority of competent workers who have lost jobs as a result of downsizing face serious economic hardship, often for years, before finding other suitable employment. But this claim is undermined by a recent report on the Elthyrian economy, which found that since 1999 far more jobs have been created than have been eliminated, bringing the unemployment rate in Elthyria to its lowest level in decades. Moreover, two-thirds of these newly created jobs have been in industries that tend to pay above-average wages, and the vast majority of these jobs are full-time. Downsizing is the process whereby corporations deliberately make themselves smaller, reducing the number of their employees."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author claims that the article of a national newspaper contradicts with a recent report on economy that downsizing of corporations created prolonged economic hardships for workers before they could find another job. The reports states that more jobs have been created and the reward is above average, as a result, the author wants to assure that corporate downsizing didn't have a profound effect on former corporate employees. Nevertheless, before coming to any conclusion and stating that the argument of the article is unwarranted, several evidences need to be presented to fortify the claim.