The following appeared as a letter to the editor of a national newspaper Your recent article on corporate downsizing in Elthyria maintains that the majority of competent workers who have lost jobs as a result of downsizing face serious economic hardship o

In the argument, the author concludes that recent article on corporate downsizing is false. He ‎comes to this conclusion based on recent report, unemployment rate, and number of created jobs. ‎While the author’s assertion could prove true, he should provide three pieces of evidence in order ‎to bolster its credibility. ‎

First of all, the author needs provide evidence regarding the types of ex-employee’s occupations. ‎It is possible that most people were working in office, or non-industrial jobs which do not require ‎hard-work or skillful people. In this case, even by providing abundant job in industry, they remain ‎without job as they it is incompatible with their skills. Moreover, perhaps most of people who has ‎forced to leave their jobs were students. In this case, many students are not able to work in ‎industries which require years of experiences and knowledge. They were working in bar or ‎restaurant as it does not require most of the above criteria. Therefore, if above examples are true, ‎the author’s conclusion would considerably hamper.‎

Secondly, the author should provide more data about the way which recent survey was ‎conducted. It could be possible that the conductors were negligent, and did not take into account ‎many people who were suffering from lack of jobs. Furthermore, maybe many employees who ‎have lost their jobs, forced to leave the city in the hope of finding a suitable job. In this case, the ‎unemployment rate did not include them, which leads to unreliability of this survey. In addition, it ‎could be possible that most worker who lost their jobs were coming from adjacent cities, ‎subsequently, the conductors did not consider them as part of their statistic. If either scenario has ‎merit, the author’s assertion does not hold water.‎

Finally, the author should provide evidence regarding the ex-employee’s job conditions. It might ‎be possible that most of them had part-time job, as they are students or disabled persons, and ‎now they are undeployed as the market is full with full-time job. In addition, perhaps most of the ‎workers who lost their jobs, were heads of their department or were holding high position in their ‎previous careers. However, now most jobs pay above-average which is not proper for them due to ‎their lifestyle. In this case, they are not able to pay their expenses if they choose these kinds of ‎available jobs. Even maybe they feel sense of shame to do interview for these jobs as they were ‎prominent people such as CEO. Assuming either case is valid, the auth’s conclusion would fall ‎apart.‎

In conclusion, the author’s claim, as it stands now, is significantly flawed due to its reliance on ‎several unwarranted assumption. Hence, if the author would like to make the prompt more ‎persuasive, he should provide three pieces of evidence regarding above possibilities. ‎