The following appeared in a memo to the board of directors of Bargain Brand Cereals One year ago we introduced our first product Bargain Brand breakfast cereal Our very low prices quickly drew many customers away from the top selling cereal companies A

In the memo, the author concludes that Bargian Brand should work on new low-priced food ‎products. This conclusion relies on several premises such as succeeding their cereal over a year, ‎and being a profitable product. Although the author’s assertion could prove true, he should ‎answer three questions in order to bolster his persuasiveness.‎

First of all, is cost of producing of new products the same as breakfast cereal? It is possible that ‎the technology and equipment for cereal are less expensive than other products. In this case, the ‎profit of cereal is coming from these cheaper machines, but for initiating new line of products, the ‎owner has to invest more money, which subsequently could reduce the profit. Moreover, maybe ‎cereal production does not need skillful and experienced staff, by contrast, most of other products ‎require professional workers who need higher salary. Likewise, the profit could be lower ‎compared to the cereal process as they have to dedicate more money for employment section. If ‎either case hold water, the author’s suggestion would considerably hamper. ‎

Secondly, is author sure that BB breakfast cereal will sustain its sell? It might be possible that, ‎due to its newness, people were keen to buy and taste them. After a year, it could become like ‎other product and people will looking for new brands in order to escape their routine and find new ‎experiences. Furthermore, maybe with the emergence of new lower-priced cereal, people would ‎abandon BB cereal as the price is high priority for them. In addition, even if there would be no new ‎lower price cereal and people are loyal to the product, an unpredicted side-effect will show up. In ‎this situation, not only they could lose all customers, but also it put huge burden on the owner’s ‎shoulder if he has to pay the medical expenses and it leads to bankruptcy and closure of the ‎company. If above examples have merits, the author’s conclusion would fall apart.‎

Finally, are other factors lead to lower price which is exclusively for this product? It could be ‎possible that the owner of company has many hectors of maize nearby. This might get them an ‎advantage as they do not need mediators who cost them. In addition, maybe the lands are near ‎factory; therefore, the transportation cost would be reduced. On the other hand, the new products ‎require barn, for example for diary, which the owner does not in possess. They should contact many ‎farmers to reach an agreement for supplying their demands, which is competitive with other ‎companies and may not lead to higher profit as they have to compromise. In either scenario, the ‎author’s suggestion is not overly compelling. ‎

In conclusion, although the author’s suggestion for expanding low-priced products could be ‎sound, he should consider answering above three questions if he wants to make his argument ‎credible. ‎