The following appeared as a letter to the editor of a national newspaper.

"Your recent article on corporate downsizing* in Elthyria maintains that the majority of competent workers who have lost jobs as a result of downsizing face serious economic hardship, often for years, before finding other suitable employment. But this claim is undermined by a recent report on the Elthyrian economy, which found that since 1999 far more jobs have been created than have been eliminated, bringing the unemployment rate in Elthyria to its lowest level in decades. Moreover, two-thirds of these newly created jobs have been in industries that tend to pay above-average wages, and the vast majority of these jobs are full-time."

*Downsizing is the process whereby corporations deliberately make themselves smaller, reducing the number of their employees.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument concludes that the majority of the competent workers who have lost jobs as a result of downsizing are facing several serious economic issues and are struggling to find new jobs and the argument doubts this conclusion based on several evidences of the increase of employment rate and new jobs being created. However, the evidences put forth for the claim are unwarranted and extra evidences would be needed to conclude the assumption.

The claim made by a recent report on the Elthyrian economy is that since 1999, many more jobs have been created in comparision to the jobs being eliminated. The report does not compare the increase or decrease in the employable population of the time period. It may be a possibility that the popoluation of Elthyrian economy would have increased much more compared to the increase in the number of jobs which would ultimately create the dearth of jobs overall. Also, it may be a possibility that these jobs would be taken by the people who have been from different from the native country and would have migrated from different countries. A proper survey would be needed for the kind of jobs that have been increased and if these vacancies were fulfilled only by the people who were removed as a result of downsizing to strengthen the argument.

Moreover, The evidence does not throw any light on the nature of the jobs that have increased. It may be a possibility that the new jobs that have been created would require different skills compared to the skills of the workes who have been removed as a result of downsizing process. Also, it is a possibility that the skills of the people who have been removed would no longer be required by the current market which would make the those skills obolete. Thus, it is unwarranted to claim based on the only assumption that the jobs have been increased not considering the nature of the jobs nor the kind of the skills the people who were downsized pocessed.

The argument asserts that 66% newly created jobs tend to pay high and are full-time. This has little to do with the fact that the people who have been removed would be skilled enough to get an employment from these jobs. Also, the data is insuffecient and doesn't provide for the information opf remaining 33%. If the remaining one third of jobs recieved lower wages then the financial problems of the Elthyrains would still persists. Also, there is no quantative comparision on how high or how low the wages were. In absebce of such evidences and knowing only limited facts, these evidence would do little to add any weight on the support of teh argument.

Thus, the evidences provided doesn't do enough to strengthen the argument and extra evidences mentioned above would be required to ensure that the claim is justifiable. In absence of such evidences the argument doesn't hold water. Thus, it is a possiibility if the above evidences are considered that the workers would have actually lost the jobs and it would be a difficult situation for them to find their employement back in the industries.