The following appeared as a letter to the editor of a national newspaper.

"Your recent article on corporate downsizing* in Elthyria maintains that the majority of competent workers who have lost jobs as a result of downsizing face serious economic hardship, often for years, before finding other suitable employment. But this claim is undermined by a recent report on the Elthyrian economy, which found that since 1999 far more jobs have been created than have been eliminated, bringing the unemployment rate in Elthyria to its lowest level in decades. Moreover, two-thirds of these newly created jobs have been in industries that tend to pay above-average wages, and the vast majority of these jobs are full-time."

*Downsizing is the process whereby corporations deliberately make themselves smaller, reducing the number of their employees.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The letter attempts to refute the information presented in an earlier article by a newspaper by citing various observations from a report to conclude that the article’s conclusion is fallacious and needs to be revised. However, the connection between the article and the report hasn’t been established and specific details are required to understand and validate the argument.

First, the letter mentions the article it is trying to refute and states that it talks about corporate downsizing and that many competent workers face economic hardship. It fails to mention the scope of this article and the groups covered. Information about the industries and the kind of jobs within those industries covered is needed to evaluate if it is a specific case or the general situation in Elthyria. Also, the size and variance in the population considered as the reference for the article is required to understand the implications of its conclusions. If the article is limited to a very specific industry with esoteric jobs which face these issues, then the argument against it citing a generic report would be irrelevant and wouldn’t refute it in any sense. Also, the time period considered by the author of the article is required to see if it is only talking about recent downsizing or has considered the historical employment trends like the report. If the article has covered similar industries, jobs, and time periods as the report, the report can be used to present evidence against it.

Furthermore, the argument mentions the difference in the creation and elimination of jobs as found in the report. It fails to mention the details of these jobs and the people filling in the new jobs. If the new jobs created are in no way related to the old jobs, it can leave many people unemployed as they may not possess the skills required for them. Additionally, more young people may be filling these newly created employment requirements while still keeping the recently fired competent workers out of employment. If this is true, the argument would be weakened as the downsized workers would still face the same hardships even when the employment numbers keep going up.

Finally, the argument mentions that the majority of new jobs are in industries with jobs paying above-average wages and a considerable proportion of them are full time. Again, if the earlier article has covered similar industries and types of jobs, this information would be useful in the argument against the article. However, if the earlier article talked about other industries with a different distribution of full time and part time jobs, this information would not help the argument and would in turn weaken it.

In summary, the argument presented requires a lot of evidence about the article called into question and the report being used to refute it to determine if the comparisons are valid and if the report can be successfully used to argue against the article. The validity of the argument can be determined only after establishing the connection between the details presented in the article and the report.