Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the

societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of

corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own

position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and

supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The statement presented tries to distinguish the responsibility of any corporation based on a conventional dichotomy present in today’s world i.e. corporations can either work motivated purely by monetary goals or be cognizant of their socio-environmental responsibilities. The exponential growth of capitalism in the past decades has led to an increasingly negative view of corporations as money crunching machines with little regard for the effects of their growth. However, with better education and understanding of the effects of capitalist growth on the world, the masses have also become aware of the social and environmental effects of the growth of such corporations and how to carefully limit them.

Capitalism proponents have often viewed it as a concept devoid of any harmful consequences and intended for the upliftment of the entire world. These views have often ignored the harmful effects of unrestrained capitalism on various aspects of the world. Since the purpose of corporations is to provide their customers with products or services which add value to their lives, alienating it from their general well-being is fallacious at its very roots. Adding value in certain aspects while reducing in some other ways results in a diminutive overall value or perhaps even a negative overall value. For example, Volswagen, the german automobile corporation, aimed to provide better cars at lower prices by bypassing pollution tests for their cars using deceptive techniques. While this may have resulted in better profits for them and reduced costs for customers, it was coupled with detrimental consequences which would far outweigh the benefits provided by the plan. This led to a large backlash, fines, legal cases and reduction in sales for them. Similarly, blazingly fast one or two day deliveries from e-commerce giants is a key factor behind increased profits and improved customer experience. However, it comes coupled with the hidden transportation costs which result in higher fuel usage which contributes to pollution and inhumane work hours for the delivery truck drivers. Thus, the aim of making as much money as possible is almost always coupled with condemnable and harmful consequences.

On the other hand, the monetary responsibility combined with a well being for society and environments has led to unexpected benefits for the corporations as well as the society and environment. Apple, the computer and mobiles giant, has seen increased sales and a happier customer base after they started creating products free of toxins which can be recycled more efficiently at the end of its first lifecycle. Such concerns for the environment helped them gain attention of environmentalists and push a cleaner image of their products. Various carbonated drinks companies, recognising the ill effects of high sugar content in their drinks, came out with sugar-free variants which led to an improved image and an even bigger customer base. Thus, combining monetary motivations with socio-environmental responsibilities is beneficial for everyone involved.

In summary, it is the responsibility of any corporation to combine its fiscal targets with the general well being of the people and the environment. The two are intertwined and can rarely be considered in isolation which can lead to disastrous consequences. Therefore, it would bode well for companies to keep all consequences in mind and carefully consider all of their responsibilities.