The following appeared as a letter to the editor from the owner of a skate shop in Central Plaza. "Two years ago the city council voted to prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. They claimed that skateboard users were responsible for litter and vandalism that were keeping other visitors from coming to the plaza. In the past two years, however, there has been only a small increase in the number of visitors to Central Plaza, and litter and vandalism are still problematic. Skateboarding is permitted in Monroe Park, however, and there is no problem with litter or vandalism there. In order to restore Central Plaza to its former glory, then, we recommend that the city lift its prohibition on skateboarding in the plaza."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author's recommendation that, in order to restore Central Plaza to its former glory, the city should allow skateboarding in the plaza again is flawed. This is because certain questions must be answered before to evaluate such recommendation as a sound argument. In what follows, I will explain my points.

First, the author is assuming that nothing but allow skateboarding in Central Plaza again will restate the glory of the place. But this is a strong conclusion based on a weak evidence. He need to know what others features can improve the image of Central Plaza. Maybe, for instance, the infrastructure is in bad conditions, making that the visitors prefer go to others places to visit.

Second, the author is comparing the Central Plaza situation against Monroe Park. He says that in the latter there is not a relation between vandalism and skateboarding. But, we do not know if there are enough similarities between both parks to confirm that vandalism can be avoided allowing skateboarding. Moreover, the prohibition of skateboarding could not stop vandalism and litter. What if the security if better in Monroe Park than in Central Plaza? Perhaps, the police in Monroe Park is making an excellent job there fighting criminals, and central Plaza lacks of good security forces.

Third, he is not considering the possibility that the criminals of Central Plaza are the skateboarders. This could have happened if the prohibition control had not been applied properly. For instance, the skateboarders can keep going to the Central Plaza in spite of the police efforts. The author should investigate how well the prohibition has been implemented by the local authorities because he could make the problem worst if his recommendation is implemented.

To conclude, the author's recommendation could be strengthened if the author investigate which other issues are keeping the Central Plaza visitors away of the place. Furthermore, the recommendation could also strengthened if he understand better the relation between Central Plaza and Monroe Park to know if the similarities are enough. However, as it stands, the argumentation is flawed for the reasons indicated.