To be an effective leader, a public official must maintain the highest ethical and moral standards.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

How an effective leader should be? Some people may considerer that it is enough that public officials maintain the highest ethical and moral standars. So, we are just talking about learders in the public function, that is to say, poticians. For this reason, I believe that is not enough for a public official to be an effective leader just maintaing an excelent behaviour in ethical and moral issues. Consequently, I disagree with the statement.

To begin, if we are talking about politicians, there are a lot features that they should have in order to be effective leaders. Although that is important to maintain the highest ethical and moral standars, this could not be sufficient. We must define what we understand for an effective leader in the public domain and this is deeply related with the functions of the State. Since my point of view, the State must be reduced to a minimun in order to increase people freedom. Therefore, any actions that politicians do against this idea should be considerer as an ineffective policy. For instance, if the government increase taxes to paid public health, the citizens will reduce their income because they will have to pay for them. At a first sight, this policy can be see as an ethical one. However, this is not fair because the State has used the coercion to steal citizens' money, which it does not have anything moral at all.

In addition, it is necesary to define what the moral standards are. But, more important, who defines that. For instances, if it good to punish the successful business man increasing taxes over rents, the government is falling in a trap of being inmoral. This policy will disminish investment, creating a decrease in jobs and in the economy.

On the other hand, it is good for a society to establish clearly which the ethical and moral standards are. If a referendum declares which this standars are into a democratic enviroment, then the people will be beneficied by the policy. However, as I have said before, this is not enough to have an effective leader. The population must determine which things they expect of their leards. With this, they can judge if the government has done the things accordly to the standars that people have agreed.

To conclude, it is not enough to maintain the highest ethical and moral standards for a leader to be an effective one. These standars must be define first and other issues have to be taken into account to evaluate in the best possible way the policies that make an effective leader.