The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Parkville Daily newspaper.

"Throughout the country last year, as more and more children below the age of nine participated in youth-league sports, over 40,000 of these young players suffered injuries. When interviewed for a recent study, youth-league soccer players in several major cities also reported psychological pressure exerted by coaches and parents to win games. Furthermore, education experts say that long practice sessions for these sports take away time that could be used for academic activities. Since the disadvantages outweigh any advantages, we in Parkville should discontinue organized athletic competition for children under nine."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of the letter might have meant well while writing to protest against athletic competition for children under nine. However, his complaints do not make a cogent argument based on the many loopholes and insufficient evidence.

First, though more children might suffer from injuries due to an increased number who join in sports, this is not to say that there is also a huge increase in the percentage of children who suffer. 40,000 might seem like a huge number, but the author does not mention the total number of children who participated in youth-league sports; if there were hundreds of thousands of children who played sports, and only 40,000 were injured, the situation would not be serious enough to require a total cancellation of these sports.

Even if there is a large percentage of children who suffered from injuries, what might have been defined as an injury could be inconsequential. For example, if most of the children received injuries from slightly scratched knees, parents need not worry about the health and safety of their children doing sports. What's more, the fact that these children were injured might not have been connected to sports activities at all. The author only stated that 40,000 players were injured, but did not state whether they were injured due to youth-leagued sports, or if they managed to get hurt while playing at home.

As for psychological pressure, the author condemns the pressure to win as a negative thing. He/She neglects the fact that the pressure to win is not specified for sports activities, but ever-present in children's daily activities, from board games to competitive tests. The advantageous side of this urge to win, such as higher determination and motivation, is overlooked. Plus, there is no mention of the number of players who expressed psychological pressure by playing youth-league soccer. If there were only two or three who are unaccustomed to the pressure in sport games, wouldn't it be unwise to eliminate the fun completely for others, when they can perhaps choose not to participate instead?

Moreover, there can be many pros to youth-league that can benefit children. Though there can be pressure to win, children can also learn teamwork, and make friends along the way. While there would be less time from academic activities, there can also be beneficial parts of youth-league that would tip the scale. For example, children may release pressure from schoolwork through sports, and have a better physique so they feel less tired everyday from studying. In fact, studies have shown that playing sports while young often helps people build on their concentration, which can lead to better academic performance in the future.

Though youth-league can have its downsides, such as the occasional injuries and pressure, the author does not make a convincing point to make it worthy of shutting down the games completely. It is highly unlikely for the author to change other people's views if he does not better support his opinion with valid reasoning.