The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

There is no lack of encouragement when adults interact with children. From taking their first steps to getting top grades in class, children are rewarded with compliments for good behavior. Naughty behavior, on the other hand, is treated with different actions by parents and teachers alike. Some would argue that it is best to ignore negative actions instead of facing them, for that is enough to restrict bad behavior. However, I do not believe that this is the ideal way to teach people right and wrong. While giving praise can reinforce good actions, ignoring negative ones will not help people improve, whether it be children or adults.

Those who support ignoring negative actions assume that this would be enough to deter bad behavior. It's true that children often throw tantrums on purpose in order to catch parents' attention. Perhaps we have all seen cases in which a child is unwilling to leave the playground, leaving the parents with no choice but to pretend to go home without them. In this specific example, ignoring a child seems to work. Another way to teach people a lesson is by giving “the cold shoulder," a retaliation most often appearing in interactions between close family members or friends. Complete disregard of the other person would most often make one eager to break the ice, and perhaps lead to reconciliation.

However, such examples are not applicable on every occasion. The biggest problem with ignoring errors is that the one committing them would not understand what they did wrong, or even notice that they did anything wrong at all. This can be easily seen during language learning, as students try to imitate the unfamiliar phonemes and intonations of another language. If teachers refuse to correct students while they are practicing speaking, it would be difficult for the students themselves to notice their mistakes. Same can be said not only for obtaining new knowledge but also for morals. If children who refuse to share or play nicely with classmates are ignored, they would have a hard time understanding the reason without the teacher pointing it out for them.

In fact, to be ignored could even exacerbate negative actions, as people are given what they could themselves interpret as silent approval and free reign to act however they wish. Take bullying, for instance. Turning a blind eye to bullies will not likely stop their name-calling, harassment, and threats. Instead, they can become more brazen and reckless in their mindless torture of their peers. In such cases, it might be possible for others to feign ignorance in the face of the bullies’ monstrosities; however, for the victims themselves, there is no running away. For victims of bullying, ignoring bullies was not, and never will be an option. Troubles find them, not the other way around.

Though some negative actions can be stopped by purposefully ignoring the actions themselves, this is not applicable in every situation. To teach is to help people differentiate right and wrong, and that can only be done by telling them what they can do better. Bad behavior cannot be dismissed by waiting things out. If you choose to stay on the sidelines, you will neve have the power to change the game.