The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Parkville Daily newspaper.

"Throughout the country last year, as more and more children below the age of nine participated in youth- league sports, over 40,000 of these young players suffered injuries. When interviewed for a recent study, youth-league soccer players in several major cities also reported psychological pressure exerted by coaches and parents to win games. Furthermore, education experts say that long practice sessions for these sports take away time that could be used for academic activities. Since the disadvantages outweigh any advantages, we in Parkville should discontinue organized athletic competition for children under nine."

Author state that children below age of nine suffered injuries by the sport activity.Injuries was happen because of pressure extered by the coaches and parents to win games.This view is wrong describe by the author.Author is not mention which type of injuries happen and why.And,without statistics author should discontinue organized athletic competition for children under nine.

First,Author did not mention the clear reason behind the injuries.It may happen that greater than age of 9 also suffered from injuries.In every sports, safety equipment is necessary to carry or available on field.It was also possible that couch and sports committee did not follow the safety standards.if we talk about the cricket than safetypad for leg,armpad necessary to wear but many people ignore the safety and play the cricket without it.

Second,Author also exhibited that youth-league soccer players in several major cities also reported psychological pressure exerted by coaches and parents to win game.It was a servey of several major cities that doesn't means that it is also applicable for parkville.And,This survey was about only for soccer not for other sports games.

Third,Education experts say that instead of sport training time that could be used for academic activities.Education is only develop mental health.sports is necessary to develop physical health along with education.so,It should not give a proper reason to discontinue athletic competition.

To sum up all,Author did not describe proper reason to discontinue to athletic competition in parkville. And,Many cities survey of soccer player is not valid conclusion on injuries happen because pressure exerted by couches and parents to win games.