The following appeared in a letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University:

A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children. Therefore, Seatown should institute a free-tuition policy for its professors for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The faculty committee's concern for enhancing the morale among the faculty is appreciated. The points mentioned in the letter are however not substantiated by sufficient evidence for implementing the policy mentioned.

The letter talks about a study conducted at a nearby university, which showed that faculty retention was higher when professors were offered free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children. We are not told anywhere about which kind of a study was it. Who conducted this study? Which group of audience did it target? Did it include only those professors who had college-aged children or did it include all the professors? If we would have known answers to all these questions we could have validated the conclusions of this study. But here, in the absence of all these answers, its difficult to formulate a position. What if only few professors were interrogated and those professors who didn't have college-aged children were not included in the study at all? How would providing free tuition at the university for the children, would benefit these professors who weren't included in the study.

Even if we assume that results of the study were accurate and indeed faculty retention proved to be higher when professors were offered free tuition for their own college-aged children, we have no evidence in the letter to help us understand, why the same policy would work at this university as well. Both the universities were different, and it might be the case that one policy would work at a particular university and the same would have no effect on the other one. Let us assume, University of Seatown had majority professors who were yet to be married or had small kids and university of Oceania had majority of professors who had college-aged kinds. In such a case we cannot form a bridge to strengthen that a free tuition policy would help to enhance morale of faculty at the Seatown university. If we had known these details about professors at both the universities, we could have formed a link to say that the policy would be effective and Seatown should institute such a policy.

Thus, as the argument rests on several unwarranted assumptions, it fails to make a convincing case.