SuperCorp recently moved its headquarters to Corporateville. The recent surge in the number of homeowners in Corporateville proves that Corporateville is a superior place to live than Middlesburg, the home of SuperCorp's current headquarters. Moreover, Middlesburg is a predominately urban area and according to an employee survey, SuperCorp has determined that its workers prefer to live in an area that is not urban. Finally, Corporateville has lower taxes than Middlesburg, making it not only a safer place to work but also a cheaper one. Therefore, Supercorp clearly made the best decision.

The decision of supercorp to move its headquarters to Corporateville might be good but the assumptions on which it is based are flawed at many places.

The author assumes that increase in the number of homeowners at a place makes it superior to any other place where surge is not observed. But, we cannot neglect the idea behind what is causing this increase. It may be because this is a place where new constructions are happening and is a place which is, in its developing phase and might have good future prospects because of which people are buying homes, or it maybe because compared to all other posh places this place provides a more pocket friendly scenario. It might be, all the other places have huge population and do not have place for new people buying new properties at that point of time. We could have agreed to the authors view of Corporateville being more superior if we had more evidences in terms of facilities and assets provided by this place.

Moreover, the argument is built upon an employee survey which concludes that workers have a preference to live in areas which are not urban. The workers would want to live at more affordable places and hence may definitely choose a cheaper place to live. But, the authenticity of this survey is questionable as we are not told whether this survey covered all the employees or was it just one employee upon whose opinion the decision was made. Had it been known that what kind of questions were covered and how many employees were actually involved in this, would this survey succeed to strenghten the argument.

Also, the author builds on the fact clearly that since this place has a lower tax than their earlier place it would make this place a cheaper place as well as a safe place to live in. Though, finding a cheaper and a safe place, sure, supports the author's claim, but we do not know how much were the taxes at Middlesburg and how much lower were the taxes at Corporateville. It might be the case that only relative to the taxes imposed in Middlesburg, this place had a little lower rate but actually this number was big. In that case it wouldn't make this place cheaper to live. Another thing is that this place is said to be safer but no such statement by the author backs it for us to believe that it was really a very safe place to move to.

The argument, is thus, based on several unwarranted assumptions which makes it difficult to build a convincing case. If the assumptions were supported by more data and facts we could have agreed that SuperCorp indeed made the best decision.