The following appeared in a letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University:A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for thei

The letter from faculty committee to the president of Seatown University recommends that university should institute a free-tuition policy for its professors for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors based on a study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children. This letter is missing many important aspects related to a admission process and student's qualifications.

First and most important flaw I see in this letter is that conclusion of study was that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children. Whereas recommendation based on this study is that it would enhance morale among the faculty and lure new professors. I don't see any evidence linking higher retention rate to enhancing morale among faculty and luring new professors. There might be some other reason behind low morale of faculty members like no proper residence, or not good medical services, or may be low pay. Similarly, why new professors are not attracted towards Seatown University could be the absence of proper labs and study material. Thus, instituting a free-tuition policy for them won't be helping in enhancing their morale.

The letter is just referencing to the study but has not provided all relevant information. We don't know who was included in this study, what were the parameters to determine who can participate fairly in the study. It may be soma layperson from university campus or may be some notorious students. Due to lack of diligent efforts and evidences related to study we cannot confirm to the claim of Seatown university going for a free-tuition policy for its professors for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors.

Moreover, this recommendation is based on the assumption that most of the faculty children are college-aged. This count could be one or could be ten. In lack of any specific data about their ages we cannot say providing free tuition-fee would be adding enhancing morale among faculty and luring new professors.

In Summary, I would say this letter lacks evidence and data to connect faculty retention with faculty morale and attracting more professors.