The following appeared in a letter from a firm providing investment advice to a client."Homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last year that region experienc

In this memo, the author recommends that as demand for heating oil will increase, investment in Consolidated Industries is favorable. The author points that the northeastern region in United States is suffering continuous cold weather which is likely to continue to be severe in the next few years. The author also reasons that the increase of new house construction is expected, the usage of heating oil will increase naturally. However, it seems to be specious in several respects.

To begin with, the author argues that natural increase in using heating oil is naturally predicted phenomenon due the regions’ upcoming cold weather. Yet, the author is overestimating the weather reports accuracy, without checking its credibility. What if the weather forecast for the past several years were so unmatched that majority of local residents were decrying of its wrong information? Unless the weather forecasting skill is confirmed to be credible enough, it is too hasty to believe their information and recommend investment in Consolidated Industries.

Even if the population growth will affect this region appears to be true, the author is relying on the assumption that the increased demographic figure will occur new house demand increase. Yet, the author might be overlooking the region’s current house conditions. Perhaps, the area is suffering lack of space to construct new houses resulting in implementing renovation of old houses of which are mostly not confirmed of heating methods. Old houses may have used radiator using hot vapors which doesn’t need fuels. Thus as insufficient evidence that new houses will be constructed and they will use heating fuel are prevailing for now, more data is required to reinforce the reliability of investment recommendation.

Even if the two forgoing assumptions appears to be true, the author is relying on an assumption that the heating oil will maintain its major place being the main source of heating onward. Indeed, some will use it for its familiarity, nevertheless, as heating technology is developing constantly, new methodology is likely to be introduced in the future. Perhaps more energy-efficient heating method could become materialized in the near future. If such method save up maintenance fee then residents will likely to change their heating power. Therefore, rather than investing in Consolidated Industries, investing in heating power R&D industries might be more promising unless providing confirmed premise that heating oil will be the constant main heating power.

In sum, the argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it, the credibility of local weather forecast should be confirmed enough to suggest investment in Consolidated Industries. To better assess the argument, we would need to know the future trend of heating source, and population growth will occur new house supplement to this area which will increase the heating usage.