The following appeared in a letter from a firm providing investment advice to a client.

"Homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last year that region experienced 90 days with below-average temperatures, and climate forecasters at Waymarsh University predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes have been built in this region during the past year. Because these developments will certainly result in an increased demand for heating oil, we recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author proposes that, owing to increasing demand for heating oil, we should invest in consolidated industries whose major business operation is the retail sale of home heating oil. To buttress his/her argument, the author cites the following evidence: first, 90 days with below-average temperature happened last year and would continue for the several more years; second, there is increasingly number of newly built home in this region during the past year; third, retail sale of home heating oil is the major business operation in consolidated industries. Tough the issue have merit, because of lack of relevant evidences and unaddressed assumptions, the conclusion is unsubstantiated and flawed.

To begin with, the author unfairly claims that many days of below-average temperature will result in increasing usage of heat oil. The author fails to provide detailed information regarding with these 90 below-average temperature days. it is likely that, although there are 90 days that are relatively cold, the remaining days in winter are mostly much higher than average. The total usage of oil, thus, is less than previous years. In addition, if most of these 90 days are in summer, people might be more pleasing due to lower temperature, and there is no reason to predict that oil will be used more extensively in the winter.

Furthermore, the newly constructed homes in this area during the past years do not necessarily manifest the enhanced demand for heating oil. it is likely that these new homes utilize innovative technology for heating during winters, such as electricity or solar energy. The demand for heating oil is stable in this case. Add, the old households may search for more efficient ways of obtaining heat, and thus discontinue to use oil as fuel for heating. All in all, the assumption that the more homes in this region, the more usage of heating oil is fallacious.

last but not least, the author assumes that people can make profit by investing in consolidated industries due to increase demand in heating oil. While such an assumption may seem reliable at first glance, no definite evidence has been offered to back it. we cannot make any conclusion about the profit since we are not given the reputation and business strategy of the consolidated industries. if the consolidated industries earn profit mainly from other business operations during the past few years, but unfortunately, these parts are subjected to loss starting from this year, then we perhaps even face losing. The consolidated industries might be competitively disadvantage in the market by setting the oil price much higher than competitor. we again are unlikely to make profit by investing in this company even if the demand of oil enhances.

To sum up, as it stands, the evidences are relied on several flawed assumptions that undermine its validity. To strengthen the author’s argument, the author is recommended to offer the evidences as follows: first, more detailed record of daily temperature and oil use during the last year and credibility of the prediction; second, both new and old homes insist to warm their houses by heating oil and would continue do so for several more years; third, consolidated industries’ majority profit comes from oil sale and remaining parts of business operation are remunerative.