The following appeared in a letter from a firm providing investment advice to a client.

"Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last year that region experienced 90 days with below-average temperatures, and climate forecasters predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes have been built in this region in response to recent polulation growth. Because of these trends, we predict an increased demand for heating oil and recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the letter, the firm provides investment advice for their client. The firm expects that a client would get profit if she invests in Consolidated Industries because the demand for heating oil which is the major business by Consolidated Industries will be increased due to weather change and population growth. Although it may seem convincing at first, the unwarranted assumptions lead me to question the validity of the argument.

Firstly, the author assumes that the consumption of heating oil will increase in the long run because, in the last heating season, that region experienced 90 days with below-normal temperature and climate forecasters predict this weather pattern will continue for several years. That’s why they hastily conclude that a client should spend money on the Industries. It is possible that the prediction by weather forecasters is incorrect because the region experienced the cold weather at first last year, which means that weather forecasters do not have much information for an exact prediction. With the bad reputation on prediction, the weather pattern would not continue for several years. Also, even if the prediction from weather forecasters is correct, the temperature might not be serious to people in the region. The region is located in the northeastern United States, which means that citizens are not sensitive to cold and they can stand cold weather. Hence, despite the change to low temperature, people would not purchase extra heating oil.

Second, another assumption the author makes it that client should invest in Consolidated Industries, which sells home heating oil. The reason is that many new homes are built in the region because of population growth, so she expects that lots of oil will be needed by new residents. However, new apartments might install a new heating system with solar-powered heating rather than with the traditional heating oil because old heating oil is more expensive than new energy and it pollutes the environment deadly. These drawbacks lead new residents not to use the old energy system, which indicates that investing in the industries which provide traditional oil might not be a good idea for clients.

Lastly, the author falsely assumes that demand for heating oil in the region would be improved, so she recommends spending money on the Consolidated Industries to her client. The reason why she recommends the investment is that weather patterns will continue for many years and lots of new residents will use traditional heating oil. However, the author should provide more information to persuade her clients such as past performance of the company, present sales statics, and other competitors in the market. Without such information, the client cannot decide whether her investment would be wise. In addition, if the demand for oil would be predicted to increase, other companies, whose major business operation is the wholesale of factories heating oil, would start to compete. This means that the competitiveness of the Consolidated Industries might be lower than before, so the client might not invest in the company.

In conclusion, the author states that a client has to invest in the Consolidated Industries is invalid. To bolster the argument, she should reconsider other possibilities of continuing cold weather patterns, increasing demand for heating oil in the region.