The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town—Adams Realty and Fitch Realty—Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only parttime. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a

good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this letter the author has made a case that of the two leading real estate firms in his/her town Adams Realty is the superior one. Although it might be true that Adams Realty is actually the superior firm but the author's reasoning is based on various unstated assumptions which makes this argument shaky at best.

The author has assumed that to compare performance of two firms it is enough to compare just the average home sales. It is a well known fact in economics that merely comparing averages to evaluate the better candidate is not enough. Another important parameter which is widely used for evaluating the performance of various commodities is their variance. In simple words variance tells us how much the values in a dataset actually differ from their mean. If the variance of house sales for both the firms is similar then the author's argument might hold true that Adams reality is the superior firm. If this is not the case and Fitch Realty's variance is extremely less than that of Adams Reality many customers might actually prefer Fitch Reality because they wish to take lesser risk.

Secondly, one of the major drawbacks of this argument is that the author has assumed he/she can compare the sale of a house which was sold ten years ago with the one sold one year ago. There can be many reasons for the fact that the house on market one year ago was sold faster than the one which was on market ten years ago. It is possible that the house which was sold faster was actually indeed better in terms price, location, quality and various other factors which contributed hugely to it being sold faster. Another possible explanation for this is that the demand in the market for new houses might have been extremely low ten years ago and as a result it took a longer time to sell the house. Therefore, if any of these explanations hold true it would be a huge setback for the author's argument that Adams reality sells the house faster.

Lastly, the author has assumed that hiring many part-time real-estate agents indicates a drawback. This might actually be true but the author needs to supply more evidence that the work done by part time workers is not at par with the work done by full time employees to better support his/her argument.

It might be possible that Adams reality is actually better than Fitch reality but the fact is the author has not made a compelling argument for this case. The author needs to address the various unstated assumptions that have been mentioned in this essay in order to make his/her argument more robust.