The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town—Adams Realty and Fitch Realty—Adams

Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many

of whom work only parttime.

Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that

of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000.

Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and

it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with

Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a

good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument.

Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications

are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The homeowner is suggesting his friend in a letter that Adams Realty, a real estate firm, is better than another firm to sell a home. The owner came to this conclusion based on his experience that another firm, Fitch realty, did not sell his home as quickly as possible and also that this firm's revenue is low as compared to Adam's. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated there are some unstated assumptions.

Firstly, it is possible that at present the revenue of Fitch Realty can be similar to Adam's or even more than

it. The writer of the letter discussed last year's revenue of both the firms. Perhaps it is possible the revenue of that Fitch Realty can drastically be increased and take over another firm. Furthermore, there is a possibility that Fitch realty firm sells the smaller home than Adam's because of that the average sales of the firm is less than the another. As a result, Adam's firm has high averaged sales than the Fitch.

Secondly, the writer prematurely assumes that the rate at which the Fitch sells the home 10 years back is the same today. One can't predict the things based on the fact which occurred many years before as things get quickly in today's world and 10 years is a lot of time. It is possible that back then Fitch was a start-up, was new in the market and had to face more difficult situations in real estate due to which it takes time to sell the home than any other firm. However now, Fitch has made it's name in the market and can sell the home much quicker than earlier.

Finally, Fitch realty may be a small-scale firm and so, it has 25 agents. The agents may work part-time but there is potential that their productivity is subsequently much high. Moreover, their productivity can also be similar to that of 35-40 agents who worked fulltime. Needlessly, their high productivity because of the small scale firm the company's sale is restricted to small scale sales.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to reliance on unwarranted assumptions. If writer is able to state these above assumptions and offer more evidence(perhaps in more systematic way) then it is possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation to sell the home with the help of Adams Realty Firm.