The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment building to its manager."One month ago, all the showerheads on the first five floors of Sunnyside Towers were modified to restrict the water flow to approximately one-thir

In this letter, the owner of the Sunnyside Towers aparment suggests his manager that all the twenty floors of the buildings shoud restrict the water flow to increase the profits. Because the first five floors of the apartment building's watersheds were modified, with fewer complaints by the residents, the author considers this method chould save the cost of company hence the profit will increase. To me I do not think this promotion will success in that there are some loopholes in this letter, we should evaluate them carefully.

To begin with, the author negelets the cost of modifying waterflow. At first there were merely five floors modified, if this implements promoted to all the twenty floors ,the cost of modifying will at least reduce the profit of the company which the atuhor concerns. Besides this change was implemented less than a month, the outcome is still in question. Moreover, the author tells us no problems with showers , while it does not mean these modified showers would not have problems forever. Thus we can not conclude this change will result in a considerable savings for the company.

In additon, the complaints can not represent the whole resident's opinion in this change. Although the author says there are just a few complaints about the low water,it does not mean the residents do not know this change, let alone the complaints of the residents, there is a silent majority with high possibility. Maybe the residents will vote by feet, in anther word, they will leave to other apartment instead of tolerating this small water.Thus the profits will inevitably lost by the leaving of residents.

Finally, with these flaws we discuss above, I do not consider it will be a wise choice to replicate this change to all the twenty floors of Sunnyside Towers. FIrstly,with the lacking of time in practice, we could not conclude this method really work. Secondly, the condition will be more serious by this change in all the floors as there would be more residents who do not accept this modifying , let alone the possibly silent majority who vote by feet. Thirldy, there are lots of factors related to profits of ths company, due to the cost of modifying water sheds, we can hardly predict the inceasing of profits in this company.

In conslusion, the recommendation suggests by the author is not well suppoerted by the evidence. Due to the time of practicing new policy, the result now is not compelling to us. I belive the author should not take mearsues like this anymore which may bring about complaints no matter in inside the residents' mind or directly to the company. Thus the author should figure out other plans to make profits, wisely and frankly.