The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex to its manager.

"Last week, all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation,sincethe corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. Clearly, modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will increase our profits further."

The argument proposes to modify the showerheads in order to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be. By doing so the corporation believes to reduce water consumption which in turn will decrease the water bills and drive profits. The author however fails to make a persuasive command and goes onto build his argument on the foundation of unwarranted assumptions.

A major flaw in the argument is the belief that by reducing water flow to one-third will also reduce the amount of water consumed. If the amount of water required to bath is twenty litres, then it will remain the same but will only increase the time to bath because of such low water pressure. Also since no data is available on amount of water usage before and after the change, wide scale application of such an action can lead to huge losses. Since the manger plans to scale this to all twelve buildings, he must have some quantifiable data to bolster his actions.

Morevoer the argument belives that people are only using showerheads. Thus, ignoring the population who may be using faucets or bathtubs. Thus the strategy of changing showerheads fail, if a majority of people don't use showerheads. Infact, if the larger part of populace does not use showerheads then the water bill will not reduce by much an amount, and the corporation would have to bear the extra cost of buying the showerheads and employing workforce to change them.

Also, since the number of complaints for low pressure in shower heads has been diminutive does not strengthen the assumption that people are not facing a problem with this change. Replacing a showerhead is not a tedious task nor does it require a lot of skill. It can be done by a teenager as well. Therefore many people using showerheads, might have just

bought showerheads with diffrent designs which allow a greater water flow. Thus the amount spent by the corporation

in pursuing such change would be rendered superfluous.

Thus, before taking its actions from three to twelve buildings the manager must have reliable data about the water readings. Also a decision can only prove its worth if there is an approximate idea of thr proportion of the population using

showerheads. Therefore, the argument falls apart because of many looholes in mangers assumption.