The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex to its manager."Last week, all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to on

In a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex, it is stated that profit can increase dramatically if they modify the showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings of the complex. The owner has come to this conclusion based on the evidence that restricting water flow to one-third will result in reasonable savings since they pay for water each month and no problems with shower have been reported since the adjustment(except few low water pressure complaints). However, before this prediction can be properly evaluated, three questions must be answered.

First of all, are showerheads the only source to consume water? It is possible that there is more than one water consumption source in the building for example, in the kitchen or in gardens where water consumption is much greater. Further, there is a possibility that the monthly water bill is not charged for showerheads only. If the above holds true, then the conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, what if modified showerheads do not restrict water as they are supposed to? In other words, since the readings of water usage before and after the modification of showerheads is not available, how has it been made sure that water usage has lessened over the month? Maybe the modified shower heads do not really work and water flow from showerheads is still maximum. If either of the above scenarios has any merit, the prediction made by the owner of the build does not hold water.

At last, is water pressure across the other nine buildings comparable to the three buildings in which showerheads are modified? Put differently, what if the water pressure in other buildings is very low already and the box is filled with low water pressure complaints? The owner prematurely assumes that water flow also needs to be restricted in other nine buildings, whereas, it is possible that other buildings water flow needs to be improved in order to resolve the already frustrated resident's complaints. If the above statement is near true, then it may cause residents or customers to move from the complex, which might account for a huge loss instead of an increase in profits.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the owner is able to propose an answer to three questions stated above and offers more evidence(perhaps in the form of a systametic research study), then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability about the prediction that modifying showerheads to restrict water flow can become the cause of a huge rise in profits.